Quebec has had their fair share of death metal bands. To name but a few: Cryptopsy, Neuraxis, Beneath The Massacre and of course, Korpius all spring to mind. This said, Shades Of Black is the first full-length from French Canadian band Korpius and demonstrates why Quebec continues to be a burgeoning birth place for deathening music.

Shades Of Black plays through nine songs of pure death metal, which like every album in the genre are heavy, aggressive and high-energy. I like the transitioning of the two vocalists, Philippe d’Astous and Maxime Berriault, as they alternate between a low growl and a high, shrill scream. The guitar work from these two is also impressive with some snagging solos and melodic licks toning down the aggression. The drums and bass also contribute support to these two vocalists and guitarists throughout the album, bringing together music supremacy.

Shades Of Black is an awesome death metal performance from an underrated band. I highly recommend metalheads to check out Korpius; they could become a strong name in the metal scene if they keep writing albums like this.

Track Listing:

01. Shades Of Black
02. On The Edge
03. Fury
04. Stigmatized
05. Awaking Terror
06. Disillusion
07. At The Point Of Death
08. Six Feet Deep
09. The Final Charge

Run Time: 38:56
Release Date: April 04, 2011

Check out the song: “Awaking Terror”