Wow! Where do I begin? Anthropocentric is the latest release from The Ocean and the second in a trilogy of conceptual releases from the band; Heliocentric was the first and the last part, Phanerozoic, is due to be released sometime in 2012.

Let me start by saying Anthropocentric is a big record in every sense of the word. The production is big, the concept is big, and the overall undertaking of this record is just monstrous. What The Ocean accomplish in a mere 50 minutes is quite stunning. They successfully combine numerous musical styles into not only the album, but at times individual songs as well. Influences ranging from pop to death metal and classic rock; though many other genres can be found throughout the disc as well.

The opener “Anthropocentric” is a solid death metal tune that really kicks, yet doesn’t give any insight as to what lies ahead. Beginning with, “The Grand Inquisitor I Karamazov Baseness” the shift of the record and the tunes changes dramatically. It is here that I feel The Ocean really shine. The constant shifting of tempos and genres mixed with the killer playing is not only a testament to the band’s ability to write mesmerizing songs, but it also keeps the listeners on their toes, unsure of what will come next.

The contrast between songs like the previously mentioned and aggressively, heavy “Anthropocentric” with the dreamy ethereal vibe of, “For He That Wavereth” is stunning. I also found the strategic placing of the experimental tune, “The Grand Inquisitor III A Tiny Grain Of Faith” and the instrumental, “Wille Zum Untergang” to be a welcome respite from the heavier passages on the record.

I do not feel that Anthropocentric is a record that can be digested and processed in one sitting, with only a casual listen. This is a work that requires numerous plays and a bit of attention to really appreciate and take in all that is going on within the tracks; both musically and lyrically. At the end of the day, this is a really solid effort and one that is well worth checking out.  [ END ]

Track Listing:

01. Anthropocentric
02. The Grand Inquisitor I Karamazov Baseness
03. She Was The Universe
04. For He That Wavereth
05. The Grand Inquisitor II Roots & Locusts
06. The Grand Inquisitor III A Tiny Grain Of Faith
07. Sewers Of The Soul
08. Wille Zum Untergang
09. Heaven TV
10. The Almightiness Contradiction

Run Time: 50:00
Release Date: 11.09.2010