January 12, 2010, a earthquake hit Haiti with a catastrophic 7.0 magnitude. It was reported that an estimated 230,000 people had died, 300,000 had been injured and another 1,000,000 were made homeless. This was a devastating tragedy to have struck Haiti.

As Canadians, more than 50 artists gathered together to record a rendition of the song Wavin’ Flag. The original was by none other than K’naan. It was re-written to include specific lyrical content for Haiti. All the song’s proceeds went to Free The Children, War Child Canada and World Vision Canada. With the help of this song Canadian music fans are able to give money to a good cause and in return hold in their hands music that will last the rest of time.

The song followed the original versions progression, but this one was slowed down to give it a more serious mood. The main change though would be the vocals. A vast number of famous Canadian vocalists have offered their sound for this magnificent contribution. During the verse each vocalist has a solo two lines while in the chorus everyone comes together to give the track a unified feel.

This release has two different versions. The first has a rap done and the ‘alternate version’ has different artists taking on a solo vocal part. Both versions are great and give you a warm feeling, making you proud to be Canadian. Make sure you go to your nearest store and purchase a copy.

Contributing Artists: K’naan, Nelly Furtado, Sam Roberts, Avril Lavigne, Pierre Bouvier, Tyler Connolly, Kardinal Offishall, Jully Black, Lights, Deryck Whibley, Serena Ryder, Jacob Hoggard, Emily Haines, Hawksley Workman, Drake, Chin Injeti, Pierre Lapointe, Elisapie Issac, Ima, Esthero, Corb Lund, Bob Ezrin, Fefe Dobson, Nikki Yanofsky, Matt Mays, Justin Nozuka, Justin Bieber, Arkells, Lamar Ashe, Broken Social Scene, Torquil Campbell, Canadian Tenors, Aion Clarke, City And Colour, Tom Cochrane, Jum Cuddy, Jim Creeggan, Kathleen Edwards, Dave Faber, Jessie Farrell, Colin James, Patrick Kordyback, Brandon Lehti, Colin McDonald, Jay Malinowski, Stacey McKitrick, Suzie McNeil, Guillaume Francoeur, Stephan Moccio, Kevin Parent, Josh Ramsay, Red 1, Hayley Sales, James Shaw, Shiloh, Tim Baker.  [ END ]

Track Listing:

01. Wavin’ Flag
02. Wavin’ Flag (Alternate Version)

Run Time: 7:46
Release Date: 04.20.2010