Every now and again a band with the ability to conquer more than one musical style comes along to entertain our ears. These bands have what is known as variety! Further Down just so happen to have some variety in their musical talents. When listening to their album 7 Years Hard Luck, I couldn’t help but notice that some of the tracks had a southern rock vibe to them. Other songs seem to sounds more like new wave rock & roll.

The first track on the album is titled “Black & Bleach.” It’s a great piece to begin 7 Years Hard Luck off with. The introduction sounds a little like something you might hear coming from southern rock legends Lynyrd Skynyrd. Not only does the intro remind me of one of my favourite bands (past and present), the sounds of a beautiful piano can be heard throughout the entire track. Basically, what I imagined when I heard this track was seeing Lynyrd Skynyrd with the accompaniment of The Guess Who.

Even though I don’t much enjoy focusing on the lead vocalist, I must give credit when credit is indeed due. Michael Collins is excellent, he fits perfectly into the scheme of the band. His fairly matured voice just so happens to be one of the best I have heard for a while.

Further Down put forth a great effort with 7 Years Hard Luck. If the band were to be wed I would hope never to hear of a divorce, the fans would all be like children unsure of which musicians career to follow closely.  [ END ]

Track Listing:

01. Black & Bleach.
02. What You Say
03. One Night Stand Up
04. Hello
05. Power of Revelation
06. Get Your Rocks off
07. Burnt Side Down
08. Moccasin Blues
09. Hit or Miss
10. Cactus in the Sand

Run Time: 39:20