All I can say is WOW, this CD is fucking top notch. I heard their EP called Superheroes a while back and it was pretty solid, but this CD brings the band to a whole new level. The piano at the beginning of the CD on the track called “Sacrifice” sounds so bad-ass and then it kicks into this crazy heavy guitar riff and harmonizes perfectly with the key’s at the same time… it’s unreal how well it fits. The new Edguy reminds me of some crazy kinda of 80’s metal/techno and a bit of nu metal in some parts. This CD is very intense all the way through.

Now the band is signed to Nuclear Blast, but are not really a metal band. I would have to say these dudes kinda have more of the 80’s heavy rock feel to them for sure. You can tell as soon as you listen to their first song “Sacrifice.” So if people have been saying, “check out this new metal band,” they must not have listened to the CD too well. The band is really great at what they do and every song on this CD is fucking amazing for what the music is. This CD is very well written, I can tell there is a lot of math in these songs; just listen to the second song “Rocket Ride.” It’s basically just filled with crazy solos, sweeps, a mix of different rhythm riffs, and a crazy chorus that is the same when repeated but not quite.

The over all sound of the new CD Rocketride is mint… like honestly you can’t ask for a better sound; everything is dead on. The mastering of this CD is amazingly good as well and the artwork also kicks a lot of ass.

The bass sounds so crunchy at times, that it will make your ears open up even if you’re deaf. The guitar tone is probably the craziest tone I have herd from an 80’s style band, that’s why people might let this CD slip and just called it a metal album. The singer is all over the place, but in a good way. He is very creative with this voice and the band wouldn’t stand out as much if it wasn’t for him.

I definitely recommend this album if you’re into 80’s metal with a bit of a twist to it. If you are crazy about this stuff then this is probably your album of the year, so go check it out now… you will not be disappointed by any means whatsoever!  [ END ]

Track Listing:

01. Sacrifice
02. Rocket Ride
03. Wasted Time
04. Matrix
05. Return to the Tribe
06. The Asylum
07. Save Me
08. Catch of the Century
09. Out of Vogue
10. Superheroes
11. Trinidad
12. Fucking With Fire (Bonus Track)

Run Time: 1:00:10
Release Date: 2006