Joyboys In The Grindhouse, the new release from Name Sayers, sees the band’s sound diving into pop, along with elements of psych-rock, hip-hop, synth-pop, and cumbia. Produced by Grammy nominee Grant Eppley, the album features appearances by MC5’s guitarist Wayne Kramer, rapper Chris Conde, and Orlando rapper E-Turn.

Talking about the album, frontman Devin James Fry says, “We made some brutal pop songs and celebrated everyone’s creative input along the way. ‘Joyboys’ dips in and out of sonic worlds while still being very much a Name Sayers joint.”

Along with Fry on vocals and various instruments, Name Sayers comprises Grant Himmler (bass), Garrett Hellman (guitar), and Marc Henry (drums).

The album’s title reveals the wry sense of humor that imbues the project, as well as Fry’s profession as a surgical instrument sharpener. Forty-nine songs were written, demoed, and culled to the 11 that constitute Joyboys In The Grindhouse.

“In making a record, as in sharpening,” says Fry, “you grind away what you don’t need.”

Entry points include opener “We Multiply,” a shadowy, psych-rock track oozing heavy resonance atop syncopated percussion. Fry’s ominous vocals imbue the lyrics with sinister imminence as if prophesying a bleak future.

For some reason, “Receiving Evil” conjures up allusions of Godsmack and Pearl Jam, although much grimier. Hints of funk-lite give the rhythm an edgy, grunge cadence, while Fry’s vocals invoke comparisons to Eddie Vedder.

Name Sayers, photo courtesy of Name Sayers
Name Sayers, photo courtesy of Name Sayers

“Standing Wave” rolls out on lysergic, swirling colors as Fry’s baleful voice gives the lyrics eerie notes. The slowly building harmonics exude a sensuous malevolence, rippling and flowing like oil across a slab of concrete.

“Gravedancer,” featuring the rapping flow of Chris Conde, is best described as psych-rock/hip-hop merged with industrial flavors – almost funereal, dressed in thick, black guitars riding a rumbling, tribal rhythm.

The sing-song motion of “Other Lives” sheds a mesmerizing aura, dense and murky with savage tones that take on layers of psychedelia in the outro.

Saturated in glutinous waves of primal, pop energy, Joyboys In The Grindhouse pulsates with ferocious, mysterious power.

Joyboys In The Grindhouse Track Listing:

1. We Multiply
2. Receiving Evil
3. Lioness
4. Reaper
5. Standing Wave
6. Gravedancer (ft. Chris Conde)
7. Gravedancing Again
8. Three Will Grow Back (ft. Wayne Kramer, Chris Conde, E-Turn)
9. Other Lives
10. 2 Go Missing
11. The Oblivion Seed

Run Time: 35:27
Release Date: July 28, 2023
Record Label: Independent