Connect with us


Track-by-Track: The Trouble Notes Detail Their Sophomore Studio Album ‘Liberty Awaits’

Fresh off the release of several dynamic singles, The Trouble Notes share a track-by-track overview of their newest album, ‘Liberty Awaits.’



The Trouble Notes, photo by Stefanie Tendler

Fresh off the release of several dynamic singles, global music band The Trouble Notes have debuted their second studio album Liberty Awaits. A key component of their upcoming Fall 2023 tour, “More Violins, Less Violence,” in the States, Liberty Awaits is an exploration and fusion of various folk styles, delving deep into the complex nuances of the rich cultural fabric of the world.

A vast expansion of the group’s repertoire, the new album boasts an introduction of new instruments and melodic voices on top of a stable foundation for which the group has become internationally known over nearly a decade. Each track on the album is rich in emotion and spirit, containing a mature yet playful overtone.

As a central theme for the album, the band drew influence from different stories of cross-cultural integration due to people’s current and historical migration across land and sea. Hailing from 4 different continents, each member of The Trouble Notes brings a unique perspective to the music, proving that music is a universal language. In addition to the core band members, the album features tracks with prodigious Ecuadorian singer Carola Zerega, French pianist Freddy Dubois, and Belgian bassist Olivier van Betsbrugge. Today the band shares a track-by-track- overview of their newest recording.

1. “Liberty Awaits”

“An epic mixture of genre that details the story of fiddle player Bennet’s Irish ancestors’ journey across the Atlantic in search for a better life after the infamous potato famine.”

2. “Never Dream Alone”

“The fantastic story of the mystical kingdom of Elfia, where people come each year to escape reality and imagine a new world of magic and wonder.”

3. “Magnolias”

This track was written for a women’s art collective in Kortrijk, Belgium, with whom the band collaborated with throughout their residency there.”

4. “Pearl d’Alsace”

A dedication to the city of Strasbourg and its importance to the band.”

5. “Mayahuel”

This song tells the story of a Mexican goddess who traveled across the sea with her Agave plant to Belgium to fuse with the local brewing traditions.”

6. “Sands of Time”

Sands of Time details a trans-cultural travel from the Middle East to an Amazonian oasis.”

7. “Turkish Delight”

Turkish Delight is inspired by the popular Turkish psychedelic rock of the 1970’s with a modern indie-rock twist.”

8. “Chips y Salsa”

“A mixture of Latin salsa and European folk music that keeps the listener’s hands clapping and feet moving throughout the entire song.”

9. “Forbidden Love”

“Portrays a dramatic story of two characters from different cultures who fall in love, ending in a blissful climactic resolution.”

10. “Tihany Tanc”

“A tune paying homage to the great Hungarian czardas composers who inspired Bennet’s love for folk music.”

11. “The Banjolorian”

“Written during our extensive travels in the Louisiana Bayou, and fuses popular Hip-Hop beats with Americana Folk instrumentation.”

The Trouble Notes 'Liberty Awaits' album artwork

The Trouble Notes ‘Liberty Awaits’ album artwork