Connect with us

Album Review

Middle Part – ‘Time Is Elastic’ [EP] [Album Review]

Simultaneously contemporary and retro, with ‘Time Is Elastic’ (Little Planet Music), Middle Part expresses charming vulnerability and intimacy.



Middle Part ‘Time Is Elastic’ EP album artwork

Brooklyn-based indie-pop artist Middle Part, aka Andrew Selkow, released his new EP, Time Is Elastic, not long ago.

Selkow explains, “I just want people to relate. I so desperately want to connect and that might be the message…art is important, no matter how you decide to approach it. There’s no age or formula, so just create. It’s the most healing form of therapy I’ve ever experienced.”

Encompassing eight tracks, Time Is Not Elastic begins with “Balance,” featuring shiny retro accents atop a mid-tempo rhythm as Middle Part’s dreamy voice imbues the lyrics with hints of pensive timbres.

Entry points include “Rather B Dead,” a punk-tinted, synth-pop tune with edgy textures from the ’90s. The vocals on this track, at once alluring and poignant, demonstrate the evocative quality of Middle Part’s voice.

A personal favourite because of its buoyant dream-pop flow, “Friends” rides a lush, syncopated rhythm, giving the tune a soft, galloping cadence as Middle Part’s creamy vocals infuse the lyrics with warm, redolent aromas.

Another excellent track, “Chinatown,” pulses with shimmering colours layered provocatively. Vaguely reminiscent of Howard Jones, only with more pop surfaces, the song ripples and undulates with delicious motion, forming a definite earworm.

Middle Part

Middle Part

The final track, “Harley,” travels on smouldering washes of synth-pop blended with tangs of alt-rock. Slightly moody yet charismatic, Middle Part’s vocals imbue the lyrics with drifting, longing savours.

Simultaneously contemporary and retro, with Time Is Elastic, Middle Part expresses charming vulnerability and intimacy.

Time Is Elastic Track Listing:

1. Balance
2. Rather B Dead
3. Friends
4. So Dramatic
5. 2morrow
6. Chinatown
7. Choke
8. Harley

Run Time: 24:09
Release Date: May 3, 2023
Record Label: Little Planet Music