Slow Violence, the new double album by Occurrence, is an expansive statement about vulnerability and decay, about the things that terrify us and liberate us. Bandleader Ken Urban (electronics, synths & beats), Cat Hollyer (vocals, flute) and Johnny Hager (vocals) have created an album that reveals the “slow violence” that accrues over the course of our lives.

After a pandemic-imposed separation, the band stretched out and experimented, repurposing previous recordings to craft an evocative album that captures both the bliss of falling in love and the pain of failure slapping you in the face. The album drops April 7, 2023, and features guest appearances from Kip Berman of The Pains of Being Pure at Heart, Christian Frederickson of Rachel’s, actor Peter Mark Kendall from TV’s THE AMERICANS, plus Johnny’s dad on trombone and Alexander McCabe on saxophone.

Long-time band associate Daniel Kluger (TONY-nominated composer) contributed additional production on three tracks. The album was mixed by Kiri Stensby, who makes music as Hara Kiri, and mastered by GRAMMY-nominated engineer Jessica Thompson.

Slow Violence Track Listing:

1. Blossom Forth
2. Universe Moves So Fast (video premiere)
3. Fudge
4. Survive, Die Faster
5. You’re Not a Miracle
6. This Isn’t What I Imagined
7. Heels Over Head
8. The Future Pt. 1
9. Everything I Had Then / Slow Violence I
10. Love Is Love (Until It’s Not)
11. November 30, 2014
12. All My Days (Final)
13. The Remote Past Tense
14. Messiah Longing
15. Slow Violence II
16. Depression Water
17. Water Into Ocean
18. Dissolve
19. Anonymous Data Call
20. Godwound / Slow Violence III
21. I Fucked The World To Get You To Love Me
22. Prepare My Body For Sleep

Tour Dates:

April 6-9 – MIT Music & Theatre Arts – Boston, MA – Tickets + Info

Occurrence ‘Slow Violence’ album artwork
Occurrence ‘Slow Violence’ album artwork

Born in 2003, V13 was a socio-political website that, in 2005, morphed into PureGrainAudio and spent 15 years developing into one of Canada's (and the world’s) leading music sites. On the eve of the site’s 15th anniversary, a full re-launch and rebrand takes us back to our roots and opens the door to a full suite of Music, Film, TV, and Cultural content.