There has been no group that polarised opinion more in rock circles over the last couple of years than Ho99o9. There is no sitting on the fence when it comes to this mind-melting outfit and their stereotype-shattering, fucked-up electronic/rap/punk-rock. Whether they’re baffling audiences supporting Papa Roach or inducing nightmares with their horrifying, hard-hitting videos, rock fans either love or hate Ho99o9.

So, is the release of their second album, Skin going to change that? In all honesty, probably not. No amount of collaborating with the likes of Corey Taylor or Travis Barker is going to sway the haters. But, then again, listening to the savagery spat out by the band throughout the album, it’s pretty obvious they don’t give a fuck. Following on from their 2017 effort, United States of Horror, Skin is the sound of anger and frustration in 2022. A musical journey that will have every nerve standing on end, the album explodes into life with “Nuge Sight,” a track that sums up Ho99o9. Rapped lyrics spat out with punk attitude over a wall of distortion, everything the haters hate about this band.

It doesn’t get any less vicious from that point onwards with “Battery Not Included” sounding like the ugly, hate-filled brother of the techno scene. “Bite My Face” is the first collaboration on the album with the group joined by Slipknot frontman Corey Taylor. Smashing together distorted sounds with aggro-rap vocals with just the briefest of breathers, even collaborating with one of rock music’s biggest names doesn’t temper their savagery. “Protect My Bitch Pt 2” is two minutes that end in the kind of terrifying way that will have you sleeping with the lights on.

No amount of listening to this record is going to change your opinion on Ho99o9. Even more accessible tracks like the snarling “Skinhead” with its blasts of snot-covered punk rock guitars isn’t going to do anything to sway the haters while those who are already under their spell will continue to champion Ho99o9 as one of the most exciting, unpredictable things to happen to music in a long time. Whichever side of the fence you sit on, before you plunge headfirst into Skin, make sure you have a therapist on speed dial because this album is an experience that will fuck you up for life.

Skin Track Listing:

1. Nuge Sight
2. Battery Not Included
3. Bite My Face (feat. Corey Taylor)
4. Slo Bread (feat. Bun B.)
5. The World, The Flesh, The Devil
6. Protect My Bitch Pt.2
7. … Speak of the Devil
8. Skinheads (feat. Saul Williams)
9. Lower Than Scum
10. Devil At The Crossroads
11. Limits (feat. Jasiah)
12. Dead or Asleep

Run Time: 33:09
Release Date: March 11, 2022
Record Label: DTA Records


I have an unhealthy obsession with bad horror movies, the song Wanted Dead Or Alive and crap British game shows. I do this not because of the sex, drugs and rock 'n' roll lifestyle it affords me but more because it gives me an excuse to listen to bands that sound like hippos mating.