Wayward Sons frontman Toby Jepson is a bit of a legend amongst the UK hard rock community and, listening to him unleash a huge scream during the title track of the band’s third album, Even Up The Score, Jepson still has one hell of a set of pipes on him. Thankfully, the rest of Wayward Sons are up to the job as well with the twelve-track record certainly up there with the best of Jepson’s impressive catalogue.

Racing out of the gates with the full-throttle opener, the Brit band is clearly in the mood to rock out hard with this new collection of songs. Three tracks in and the group have yet to take their foot off the gas with the energetic rockers setting the mood for the album. “Bloody Typical” sees the energy level drop slightly with the guys whipping up the kind of bouncy, anthemic feel that will land favourably with their audience. It’s a familiar hard rock formula that they utilize well during the record with tracks like “Tip of My Tongue” and “Land of the Blind” showing that it isn’t all about fast-paced dandruff-loosening rock.

One thing the album does have in buckets is swagger. You need to look no further than “Looking for a Reason” to hear the band strutting their way through this Friday night rock club anthem while “They Know” has the kind of grind and groove that really showcases Jepson’s talents as a frontman. Going out with a bang though, “This Party’s Over” takes you back to the ’90s era of Jepson’s career where Little Angels demonstrated their knack of writing slower songs that still managed to rock hard.

Jepson proved during the opening track that he hasn’t lost it. Throughout the British hard rock scene, he’s still one of the most consistent yet most underrated vocalists around. Three releases in for Wayward Sons and you hope that, outside his own hardcore fanbase, he gets the recognition he and the band truly deserve because Even Up The Score is the kind of album that will set rock clubs alight.

Even Up The Score Track Listing:

1. Even Up The Score
2. Big Day
3. Sign of the Times
4. Bloody Typical
5. Faith In Fools
6. Fake
7. Downfall
8. Tip of My Tongue
9. Looking for a Reason
10. Land of the Blind
11. They Know
12. This Party’s Over

Run Time: 42:34
Release Date: October 8, 2021
Record Label: Frontiers Records


I have an unhealthy obsession with bad horror movies, the song Wanted Dead Or Alive and crap British game shows. I do this not because of the sex, drugs and rock 'n' roll lifestyle it affords me but more because it gives me an excuse to listen to bands that sound like hippos mating.