Simply put, she’s the real deal — an authentic artist. Back in the day, Eve was one of the preeminent female forces in the male-driven hip-hop world — ryding every bit as ruff as her “fellow” contemporaries — achieving “First Lady” status in the industry.

In 1999, the Philadelphia-born native dropped her chart-topping crossover debut, Let There Be Eve. Proving that her breakout success was no fluke, the (then) 22-year-old hit the Top Ten (again) with her platinum-selling sophomore set, Scorpion, in March 2001. An amazing 20 years later, the folks at Interscope Records/UMe have just re-issued the iconic collection in a new deluxe digital AND two-record vinyl format — a spectacular anniversary version that delivers all the hits and skits, grit, groove and gusto of the original edition.

Overseen by an array of go-to studio aces, including Swizz Beatz, Jay “Icepick” Jackson, Dame Grease, DJ Shok, Dr. Dre, Stevie J, Stephen Marley, Scott Storch, Teflon and Eric McCaine, Scorpion helped establish Eve as a formidable hip-hop brand. And the anniversary reboot serves as a vivid snapshot from an exciting era when hip-hop was transitioning to a higher place of prominence in dance clubs worldwide.

Produced to pure perfection, while maintaining tough-as-nails street cred, the leadoff single, “Who’s That Girl,” packed infectious “la, la, la” appeal — hitting the Billboard Top 20 pop chart, as well as topping the R&B and Hip-Hop charts, immediately following its February 2001 release. An equally irresistible seduction, the follow-up single, “Let Me Blow Ya Mind,” with (then) rising pop superstar, Gwen Stefani, ultimately reached #2 on the Billboard Hot 100. The seemingly timeless video now has generated nearly 200 million YouTube views.

Eve by Sarah Louise Bennett

Monster-sized hits aside, Scorpion also boasted a good many memorable deeper cuts, such as “You Had Me, You Lost Me” — a taunting testimonial from a scorned ex — one owning a decidedly sing-along hook —  Look, ehbody makes mistakes, aw right? Another standout was “Gangsta Bitches” — the signature style, street-birthed collab with Da Brat. However, a personal favorite is, “No, No, No” — a reggae-flavored highlight brought to life via authentic assists from Bob’s boys, Stephen Marley and Damian Marley.

Seems like yesterday, right? Well, Scorpion certainly still sounds as fresh as the day it arrived, and the four bonus remixes add additional bang for the buck factor. Yet, the roll call of the record’s iconic contributors serves as a telling reminder of just how long it’s been since 2001, with the 2010 loss of acclaimed guest vocalist, Teen Marie (“Life Is So Hard”) and the much-loved recently-departed hip-hop innovator, DMX (“Scream Double R”).

In recent years, Eve has expanded her brand as a film actress and TV talk show host. But with the release of her 2019 single, “Reload,” the Grammy-winning artist maintains a presence on the hip-hop scene. However, it can be argued that two decades later, Scorpion continues to be her most celebrated and relevant work.

Scorpion Track Listing (20th Anniversary Vinyl Edition):

Side A:
1. Intro (Skit w/ Swizz) – 0:19
2. Cowboy – 3:15
3. Who’s That Girl? – 4:42
4. Let Me Blow Ya Mind (Featuring Gwen Stefani) – 3:50
5. 3 Way (Skit) – 0:41
6. You Had Me, You Lost Me – 4:22

Side B:
1. Got What You Need (Featuring Drag On) – 3:52
2. Frontin’ (Skit w/ Monique) – 0:43
3. Gangsta Bitches (Featuring Da Brat) – 4:24
4. That’s What It Is (Featuring Styles) – 3:40
5. Scream Double R (Featuring DMX) – 3:41
6. Thug In The Street (Featuring L.O.X. and Drag-On) – 5:02

Side C:
1. No, No, No (Featuring Stephen Marley and Damian Marley) – 5:37
2. You Ain’t Gettin’ None – 4:11
3. Life Is So Hard (Featuring Teena Marie) – 4:55
4. Be Me (Featuring Mishonda Tifrere) – 4:10

Side D (Bonus Tracks):
1. Let Me Blow Ya Mind (Stargate Remix) – 3:34
2. Who’s That Girl (CLAS Remix) – 4:28
3. Who’s That Girl (Akhenaton Remix) – 3:58
4. Who’s That Girl (Nonstop Mix) – 2:55

Run Time: 72:29
Release Date: March 6, 2001 (Original Edition) / March 5, 2021 (20th Anniversary Edition)
Record Label: Interscope / UMe

Christopher Long is a celebrated author, entertainment writer, TV / radio contributor, award-winning musician, popular speaker and international missionary. Referred to once as "the rock and roll Erma Bombeck," Long is known for his conversational, common sense writing style and possessing a passion for sharing his unique perspectives on pop culture, faith and politics. Raised in Missouri's rugged Ozark Mountains and on Florida's sunny Space Coast, Long currently lives near Cocoa Beach. (