Connect with us

Album Review

En Minor – ‘When The Cold Truth Has Worn Its Miserable Welcome Out’ [Album Review]



In En Minor, Phil Anselmo croons like The Grinch reaping and raping your Christmas but, reassuringly, he leaves you hanging by your tippy-toes from the mistletoe on every track. You gotta love the swampy loveliness of When The Cold Truth Has Worn Its Miserable Existence Out; this is far removed from Pantera and way more like Phil’s dying days in Down.

I don’t know where to start or end this review, as once you drop in you never want to drop out. This could haunt a late-night cruise down a dirt road or spook a walk upon a European street. En Minor speaks individually in many ways to your whereabouts and surroundings. The great thing about Phil’s Grinch-vs-Tom Waits-tonality is it blankets you in warmth and remembrance, and “Dead Can’t Dance” even has a pre-Christmas Jack and Sally vibe while “Warm Sharp Bath Sleep” is an almost Benny Goodman jam with Phil doing his best Peter Steele impersonation.

When The Cold Truth Has Worn Its Miserable Existence Out exposes the cracks of daylight hidden beneath its pillars of the underworld: Lucifers heroin, xannys, bennies, and acid are a few of the favorite things that encompass the NOLA sound on this kickback soundtrack. It’s really heavy, like a really heavy thing including a pretty heavy vibe. I mean like… it’s really heavy, dude. Like, hand me a shovel and let’s help un-grave one another, heavy. Lawrence Welk worships the devil, heavy. There’s no shortness of heavy.

If you’re looking for a great soundtrack to an uplifting venture, this ain’t it. It’s not so much that it’s depressive, but it definitely drops you down into the hollows of spooky town. I think Philip M. Anselmo would be a great narrator for a new-age Grinch after a majestically spooky 2020 Halloween season. You have to admit, 2020 has been a pretty fucked up year, and one can only pray for uplifting in the number 2021.


En Minor is a roadmap to the stars, but it’s not necessarily about New Orleans, graveyards, and/or voodoo rodeos. If you dare to dive off into the depths, you’ll emerge in this devilish requiem, eventually coming out to play in the light of day. Anselmo is one heavy cat, Daddios and Chick-a-fils, and he’s matured in his ways and greys, and now finds us following him into the shadows and shallows.

When The Cold Truth Has Worn Its Miserable Welcome Out Track Listing:

1. Mausoleums
2. Blue
3. On the Floor
4. Dead Can’t Dance
5. Love Needs Love
6. Warm Sharp Bath Sleep
7. Melancholia
8. This Is Not Your Day
9. Black Mass
10. Hats Off
11. Disposable for You

Run Time: 42:27
Release Date: September 5, 2020
Record Label: Housecore Records


I was born in the late 60's amongst hippies and bikers. Cut my teeth on 70's rock and roll surrounded by motorheads and potheads, and in the 80's spread my wings and flourished as a guitarist. In the 90's I became a semi-professional musician knocking on death metals door, as well as entering the world as a freelance writer. In the 2000's I moved to Hollywood and watched the music industry crumble in front of my dreams and then took a break. Now, in the early 2020s I'm ready to rock again… or swing, blues, bluegrass, country, jazz, classical, etc. Its not so much a job to me anymore, but a great way to express myself and have a good time, and, "I know, its only rock and roll but I like it".