Connect with us


stAlkid Gets a Little Moody on His New “I’m So Glad To Have You” Music Video [Premiere]

We have some Spooky Tunes, for Lovers and the Dead today courtesy of Minneapolis-based alternative artist stAlkid and his moody new music video for “I’m So Glad To Have You.”



We have some Spooky Tunes, for Lovers and the Dead today courtesy of stAlkid and his new music video for “I’m So Glad To Have You.” The album in question is stAlkid’s debut album release, a haunting and devious record full of goodies for those who prefer the dark, more eclectic side of music. Recorded at Dastardly Studios in Northeastern Minneapolis, the recording brings together all of the best of stAlkid’s most important influences, combining their love for blues, trip-hop, heavy metal, and acoustic music.

Due out on Valentine’s day, the release of Spooky Tunes, for Lovers and the Dead (which you can pre-order via Bandcamp) stands as a massive achievement for an artist that just began recording under his current moniker roughly one year ago. He notes about the single, “The song is more on the serious side, so I wanted to have fun with the video. I’m a big fan of mockumentaries and home movies, so we ran with that.”

Get into the ’mood’ with stAlkid’s brand new music video for “I’m So Glad To Have You.”

It was early 2019 when Roman Non created stAlkid, a name loosely influenced by a villain from The Legend of Zelda video game. The game served as one of the key inspirations for Non in creating the project, with influences also coming from the horror fiction of authors H.P. Lovecraft and Edgar Allan Poe. Creative inspiration also came to Non from a rather unpleasant experience; tripping on acid for most of an entire week in a hotel room above the Sunset Strip. It ended up serving as a positive experience in hindsight, for it helped motivate Non to pursue this ambitious musical project.

Not one to be content with the typical sounds found in the heavy metal scene, Non sought to be more expansive with his music which motivated him to incorporate more industrial rock and singer-songwriter influences into his sound. It may sound unusual to mention these two artists in the same sentence, but Spooky Tunes, for Lovers and the Dead falls somewhere in between what you may hear from Nine Inch Nails and Elliot Smith. There aren’t many artists capable of melding those sounds together which speaks to the talents of Non and bright future ahead for stAlkid.

Spooky Tunes, for Lovers and the Dead Track Listing:

01. Dreams in the Witch House
02. I’m So Glad to Have You
03. All My Friends Are Dead
04. Existential Dread
05. My Heart is a Stone
06. Crystal Ball
07. It’s Dangerous to Go Alone
08. You Are Going to Die Here
09. A Curse, For Enemies

Listen to more from Spooky Tunes, for Lovers and the Dead with the song “Dreams In The Witch House:”

Check out the artwork for Spooky Tunes, for Lovers and the Dead:

Born in 2003, V13 was a socio-political website that, in 2005, morphed into PureGrainAudio and spent 15 years developing into one of Canada's (and the world’s) leading music sites. On the eve of the site’s 15th anniversary, a full re-launch and rebrand takes us back to our roots and opens the door to a full suite of Music, Film, TV, and Cultural content.