The Skinny: Rhine are a Seattle, WA-based progressive death metal quarter – consisting of Gabriel Tachell (guitar/vocals), Alex Smolin (guitar), Carlos Delgado (drums, not the former Toronto Blue Jays baseball player), and James Porter (bass) – who are set to release their 10-track album, An Outsider, on February 5, 2016. Today, as a special Christmas gift ahead of the album’s release, we’re pleased to offer an exclusive stream of the song “Paralyzed” – listen above.

Commented vocalist/guitarist Gabe Tachell about the song: “The single ‘Paralyzed’ is all about tension and release. The theme is about personal experiences with sleep paralysis. This song gives people a well rounded Rhine experience, showing both the dissonant and heavy as well as the light and pretty side of the music. It’s a very dynamic song that features a completely improvised solo plus a clean section that turns from sweet sounding finger picking into rock ‘n roll then back into an epic metal ending with a monotonous slow outro that represents the idea of being stuck in paralysis.”

An Outsider Track Listing:

01. Dreaming of Death (11:46)
02. The Spell of Dark Water (6:20)
03. An Outsider (10:05)
04. Somewhere (3:59)
05. Paralyzed (10:50)
06. Dissolved in Fire (7:53)
07. P.R.E.Y. (5:31)
08. Into the Unknown (6:34)
09. Shipwrecked In Stasis (3:02)
10. Fragments (8:21)

Publisher, CEO, and Co-Founder - Born in 2003, V13 was a socio-political website that, in 2005, morphed into PureGrainAudio and spent 15 years developing into one of Canada (and the world’s) leading music sites. On the eve the site’s 15th anniversary, a full re-launch and rebrand takes us back to our roots and opens the door to a full suite of Music, Film, TV, and Cultural content.