Canadian technical death metal monsters Cryptopsy have had a checkered career dating back to their 1996 genre-defining debut, None So Vile. Possessing a back catalogue that has split the opinion of fans of the band, Tome 1: The Book Of Suffering is their first release in three years.

Taking a new approach, Tome 1: The Book Of Suffering sees the band issuing shorter releases with the emphasis on getting new music out to fans of the band more frequently. In all honesty, it’s not a bad idea either and, listening to the band slam through “The Knife, The Head And What Remains,” while it might be short and sweet, the four songs allow the band to concentrate and be more focused on what they do best – groovy, technical death metal. Playing to their strengths, the four tracks demonstrate the Canadian death metallers ability to write straight-down-the-line brutality, perfectly mixed up with bone-jarring time changes.

With the music industry in a state of chaos, bands like Cryptopsy need to be applauded for making sure fans get as much new music as they can and, while for some bands that may mean cutting corners when it comes to quality, there is no such worry when it comes to the output from these Canadian brutalists.

Track Listing:

01. Detritus (The One They Kept)
02. The Knife, The Head and What Remains
03. Halothane Glow
04. Framed by Blood

Run Time: 16:53
Release Date: October 30, 2015

Check out the album ‘Tome 1: The Book of Suffering’ here.


I have an unhealthy obsession with bad horror movies, the song Wanted Dead Or Alive and crap British game shows. I do this not because of the sex, drugs and rock 'n' roll lifestyle it affords me but more because it gives me an excuse to listen to bands that sound like hippos mating.