I have been a fan of Finsterforst ever since the release of their 2012 album Rastlos, and now, enter 2015, the band are set to drop Mach Dich Frei, their newest full-length, on January 23rd via Napalm Records.

With this new release, I’m pleased to say, Finsterforst really solidify their rightful position at the top of the folk metal genre. While not the party-type of folk metal that revolves around beer or Viking battles, Mach Dich Frei is instead loaded with Finsterforst’ brand of melancholic, blackened folk that is both majestic in scope, and creates a dark, lush atmospheric musical tapestry that is chock full of emotional despair.

This is by no means a disc from which you are going to want to purchase individual tracks; part of Mach Dich Frei‘s beauty is in how well it is sequenced, how beautifully it flows from beginning to end. In order to really “take it all in,” this is one of those recordings that truly requires the album to be heard in order, in a single sitting. There is so much to digest; with complex instrumentation ranging from accordion, orchestra, and choir to driving, distorted guitar riffs and black metal vocals, this is truly an epic album.

The lyrics are sung completely in German and therefore lost on me, but music is a universal language and I was easily able to deeply connect with the emotionally forlorn vibe running through the whole of Mach Dich Frei. This is one of those rare albums that continually grows on you; and the more you listen, the more layers you uncover.

Track Listing:

01. Abfahrt
02. Schicksals End’
03. Zeit für Hass
04. Im Auge des Sturms
05. Mach Dich Frei!
06. Mann gegen Mensch
07. Reise zum…
08. Finsterforst

Run Time: 74:04
Release Date: January 23, 2015

Check out the song “Mach Dich Frei!”