Royal Blood are two friends from Brighton, England and they’re making a right noise on the rock scene at the moment with their raucous rock n’ roll. Favourites of the mainstream media, the pair have (at the time of writing) just been confirmed to support rock superstars Foo Fighters on some of their upcoming UK stadium tour. It would seem the right people like Royal Blood.

So, what is this magic ingredient that Mike Kerr and Ben Thatcher have that makes the rock scene go weak at the knees every time the pair get together? Well, you only have to listen to this self-titled album to hear a connection between the two that creates something quite special. Royal Blood is rowdy, furious rock n’ roll like it was meant to be played. There are hints of punk rock mixed in with classic rock, with traces of everything from The Bronx to QOTSA to Led Zeppelin thrown into the likes of “Figure It Out” and the huge, hulking “Little Monster.” Royal Blood is an album full of big, distorted, fuzzy rock riffs and blister-inducing drumming, it’s no wonder everyone from the Foo Fighters to Arctic Monkeys want this pair on their shows.

Of course Royal Blood aren’t reinventing music on this ten-track album, they’re doing nothing you won’t have heard many times before but, currently, they’re riffing louder and hitting harder than any of the other countless bands doing this thing. In doing so, their rock n’ roll noises are making rock cool again in the eyes of those who can really help their career.

Royal Blood Track Listing:

01. Out Of The Black
02. Come On Over
03. Figure It Out
04. You Can Be So Cruel
05. Blood Hands
06. Little Monster
07. Loose Change
08. Careless
09. Ten Tonne Skeleton
10. Better Strangers

Run Time: 32:00
Release Date: August 25, 2014

Check out the song “Little Monster”

I have an unhealthy obsession with bad horror movies, the song Wanted Dead Or Alive and crap British game shows. I do this not because of the sex, drugs and rock 'n' roll lifestyle it affords me but more because it gives me an excuse to listen to bands that sound like hippos mating.