Blimey, when Metalsucks big up a band you know they must be doing something right and they’ve got it bang on the nail with their write-up of the debut mini-album from Swiss metalcore quintet Scars Divide. Straddling that line between the more accessible metalcore bands like Architects and the outright chaos of bands like Every Time I Die and Dillinger Escape Plan, their debut six-track affair is both accessible and hooky and jaw-droppingly intricate.

Take opener “All That We Need”, a track that is just shy of six minutes and is crammed with harsh, full throttle riffing, breathtaking widdling and some prime crunchy metalcore moshy bits. It’s all bundled together to form an almost perfect combination of metalcore and epic, progressive noise. “Salt Ice And Fire” sees the band head into more epic waters pulling it off with consummate ease while “Their Own Demise” is pure raging fury. An EP that just keeps getting better as it progresses, this self-titled affair may not offer anything unique but what it does provide the listener with is thirty minutes of absolutely top drawer material from a band who are clearly very special.

Like most albums of this ilk, it is all over before you’ve really had time to catch breath and, at twenty eight minutes, the Swiss outfit do more than enough to guarantee that every listener goes away a newly converted fan.

Track Listing:

01. All That We Need
02. Salt Ice And Fire
03. The Venom Of Leviathan
04. Their Own Demise
05. Three Meters Sixty
06. Whispering Shores

Run Time: 28:42
Release Date: February 28, 2014

Check out the album ‘Scars Divide’

I have an unhealthy obsession with bad horror movies, the song Wanted Dead Or Alive and crap British game shows. I do this not because of the sex, drugs and rock 'n' roll lifestyle it affords me but more because it gives me an excuse to listen to bands that sound like hippos mating.