Employed To Serve are a female-fronted quartet who describe their sound as miserable post-hardcore and, as opener “Change Nothing” smashes you in the face, you’ll have to admit they’ve got it pretty much spot on.

Raw spits of noise, the six tracks on this EP fly by in twelve minutes of utter carnage. Having said that, if you listen closely enough to tracks like “No One’s Child” there is the tiniest groove hidden away amid the rough, unpolished blasting fury that Justine, Sammy, Michael and Robby combine to create. Of course the obvious comparisons are bandied about and, yep, listening to the feral roar created on this EP, it’s easy to see why Employed To Serve are talked about in the same breath as bands like Converge and The Chariot. Couple that with the fact that their initial EPs got a release from Grindcore Karaoke, the label run by Jay from Agoraphobic Nosebleed, and you should have a fair idea of where this EP sits musically.

In the kindest possible way, there is nothing nice about the noise Employed To Serve dish up. It’s raw, filthy, grubby, violent and, at times, a little unhinged. However, on the flip side of coin, there is no getting away from the fact that Employed To Serve make it very fucking hard to ignore them.

Track Listing:

01. Change Nothing
02. No One’s Child
03. Serve
04. Perfect Smiles And Crooked Teeth
05. Heavy Limbs
06. You Looked Forever

Run Time: 12:15
Release Date: March 31, 2014

Check out the song “Heavy Limbs”

I have an unhealthy obsession with bad horror movies, the song Wanted Dead Or Alive and crap British game shows. I do this not because of the sex, drugs and rock 'n' roll lifestyle it affords me but more because it gives me an excuse to listen to bands that sound like hippos mating.