The Skinny: U.S. progressive metallers Thought Chamber are finally back with a new release, following up on their acclaimed debut album Angular Perceptions from 2007. Their sophomore album Psykerion will be released on September 16th, 2013 in Europe and on October 1st, 2013 in North America via InsideOutMusic. A first audio sample from the new Psykerion album can be heard now via a static video. Check out a full stream of the track “Transcend” below.

Thought Chamber’s mastermind Michael Harris checked in to comment the track as follows: “Musically, ‘Transcend’ kind of epitomizes what Thought Chamber does: lots of melody while getting our ‘chops’ in. And we exploit a lot of styles in it, from metal to acoustic to fusion. Lyrically, Avakus’ mind has been awakened and inspired by this voyage to Psykerion, and he gets philosophical about what makes humans ‘tick’, from instinct to ego to the drive to succeed.”

Psykerion Track Listing:

01. Inceptus
02. Exodus
03. Psykerion: The Question
04. In the Words of Avakus
05. Light Year Time
06. Kerakryps
07. The Black Hole Lounge
08. Circuits of O.D.D.
09. Behind the Eyes of Ikk
10. Isle of Bizen
11. Xyrethius II
12. Recoil
13. Breath of Life
14. Transcend
15. Planet Qwinkle
16. Inner Peace


Born in 2003, V13 was a socio-political website that, in 2005, morphed into PureGrainAudio and spent 15 years developing into one of Canada's (and the world’s) leading music sites. On the eve of the site’s 15th anniversary, a full re-launch and rebrand takes us back to our roots and opens the door to a full suite of Music, Film, TV, and Cultural content.