The Skinny: Today, German occult death metallers Abyssous premiere the new track “Examination Rite” on SoundCloud. The track hails from Abyssous’ …Smouldering LP, set for international release on October 1st via Iron Bonehead Productions. Cover and track listing follow further below, but in the meantime hear the entirety of Abyssous’ “Examination Rite” above!

Originally released in 2012, Abyssous’ …Smouldering debut demo displayed a fresh take on a rotten sound. Ever unearthing dark treasures, Iron Bonehead releases this cult gem on vinyl LP, bolstered by two newly recorded, previously unreleased tracks. Anchored in the ancient ways of the Metal of Death yet exuding a bold, flowing flair for songcraft, Abyssous compositionally run the gamut from teeth-gnashing, tempting-the-corners-of-chaos violence to slowly simmering, doomed-out dementia, taking the listener on a journey to eldritch depths… and beyond, and back. Through it all, the power-trio keep the execution red-eyed and rabid and indeed …Smouldering.

…Smouldering Track Listing:

01. Entering the Cave
02. Abominations
03. Burial Sea
04. Invocation
05. Black pyramid
06. Profaning Intrusion of…
07. The Inverter
08. Exanimation Rite
09. Abscondence


Born in 2003, V13 was a socio-political website that, in 2005, morphed into PureGrainAudio and spent 15 years developing into one of Canada's (and the world’s) leading music sites. On the eve of the site’s 15th anniversary, a full re-launch and rebrand takes us back to our roots and opens the door to a full suite of Music, Film, TV, and Cultural content.