The Skinny: A lot of great things come from the sleepy college town of New Brunswick, NJ; fat sandwiches, Screaming Females, and Don Giovanni Records. The basements of rented homes seems to be a breeding ground for an urgent and intense genre of music. Formed in 2009 and after a short break Ex Wife returned in March of 2011! Starting as a two piece, just drums and guitar the duo of Matt Harvey, and Nick Bolton added. Phil Connor to round out the band on bass. Now as a trio the band started working on what would eventually become their debut LP New Colors.

Completely engineered, recorded, and mixed by Nick who also plays guitar and mastered by Carl Saff. Over the month of February 2013 the band locked themselves down and concentrated on recording a more cohesive and personal record than their previous efforts. New Colors deals with the often depressing reality of the present, as the cheerful nostalgia of youth has been pushed to the past and the future remains uncertain. Taking influences such as loud rock bands like Pissed Jeans and Bleach-era Nirvana with more modern day indie rock that blends perfectly to put together a solid debut LP.

New Colors Track Listing:

01. Rituals
02. Young Parents
03. Lost In Late July
04. New Colors
05. Agnosia
06. Still Life
07. Sleepwalker
08. Ageless
09. Everything Seems Slower
10. While The Sun Is Out


Born in 2003, V13 was a socio-political website that, in 2005, morphed into PureGrainAudio and spent 15 years developing into one of Canada's (and the world’s) leading music sites. On the eve of the site’s 15th anniversary, a full re-launch and rebrand takes us back to our roots and opens the door to a full suite of Music, Film, TV, and Cultural content.