Aerosmith is a band divided into three very specific fan bases. Those who loved the gritty dirty rock n’ roll of their ’70s albums (Toys In The Attic, Rocks), the ‘hair metal’ crowd of the ’80s (Permanent Vacation, Pump) and the Top 40/American Idol faithful who think “I Don’t Wanna Miss A Thing” is sheer brilliance. So, how does the band keep everyone happy? Simple, release an album with twenty songs that has a little something for everyone.

“Street Jesus”, “Lover Alot” and “Out Go The Lights” are a full ’70s revival with swagger, ‘naughty’ lyrics, and Joe Perry ripping it up on guitar. Our ’80s brethren can sink their teeth into “Legendary Child” (a Get A Grip era demo), “Oh Yeah” (an arena rock track with a big crowd pleasing sing-along chorus), and “Luv XXX” (sounding like a missing Permanent Vacation track). Fair-weather fans looking for another “Jaded” will gullibly soak in “Another Last Goodbye” (a piano-driven ballad with Steven doing vocal exercises), “We All Fall Down” (another pop radio inspired ballad), “What Could Have Been Love” (a ballad that has the potential to become essential Aerosmith) and, finally (the surprisingly satisfying) “Can’t Stop Lovin’ You” which is a country-inspired duet with Carrie Underwood.

Music From Another Dimension also features a few quirky tracks. “Freedom Fighter” is a dirty rock track that never quite gets off the ground because the microphone was handed over to guitarist Joe Perry. Perry also mangles “Something” and delivers a Lou Reed/Metallica Lulu inspired performance on “Oasis In The Night” (possibly the worst track ever to appear on an Aerosmith album). Bassist Tom Hamilton turns “vocalist of the day” on the mid-tempo track “Up On The Mountain” and somehow manages to make it believable. Two of the album’s best tracks (“Shakey Ground” and “I’m Not Talkin'”) are left off the domestic release and reserved as bonus tracks for foreign markets. A true pity as they better complete the album and capture the essence of old-school Aerosmith.

Music From Another Dimension, an eccentric but ultimately satisfying album, puts Aerosmith firmly back in the saddle and helps eradicate the disgust that “Honkin’ On Bobo” and the truly horrendous “Just Push Play” (commonly referred by fans as “Just Push Eject”) albums left.

Track Listing:

01. Luv XXX
02. Oh Yeah
03. Beautiful
04. Tell Me
05. Out Go The Lights
06. Legendary Child
07. What Could Have Been Love
08. Street Jesus
09. Can’t Stop Lovin’ You (w/Carrie Underwood)
10. Lover Alot
11. We All Fall Down
12. Freedom Fighter (Joe Perry vocal)
13. Closer
14. Something (Joe Perry vocal)
15. Another Last Goodbye
16. Shakey Ground (JPN bonus)
17. I’m Not Talkin’ (JPN bonus)
18. Up On The Mountain (Tom Hamilton vocal)
19. Oasis In The Night (Joe Perry vocal)
20. Sunny Side Of Love

Run Time: 1:20:39
Release Date: November 6, 2012

Check out the song: “Legendary Child”