The sludge metal band Black Tusk has returned with a molten, pounding new release, entitled Passage Through Purgatory. This is a very interesting and intriguing disc and I think the best way to describe it is as a hybrid of sorts. There are elements of stoner metal, classic rock and even a touch of punk herein at work. This combination may seem a bit odd, but honestly, it seems to work quite well.

Passage Through Purgatory is slow burning, super gloomy, and heavy as hell; a lethal mix of heavy guitars and growling vocals. As gloomy and sludgy as it gets though, and it does get really sludgy, the disc includes quite a few terrifically infectious grooves; it is here that I think Black Tusk shines with their ability to take something so heavy and so raw and make it almost catchy. Passage through Purgatory is a heavy, sledge-hammer-to-the-head kind of album that I think is worth taking the time to check out.

Track Listing:

01. Witches Spell
02. Fixed In The Ice
03. Mind Moves Something
04. Interlude
05. End Of Days
06. Prophecy One By One
07. Falling Down
08. Breaking The Backs Of Men
09. Call Of The Sewer Rat
10. Beneath
11. Fatal Kiss

Run Time: 33:21
Release Date: 05.23.2011

Check out the song: “Call of the Sewer Rat”