Named for Civ’s record of the same name, Set Your Goals was dubbed by Alternative Press’ Tim Karan as “New Found Glory on eight cans of Red Bull.” That reference alone made me curious, so when I had the opportunity to review their latest album, Mutiny!, I jumped at the chance. Thankfully, I was not disappointed.

As the album’s title might suggest, Mutiny! has a pirate theme going on – but it doesn’t go much further than the album insert (which unfolds to a treasure map) and a lyrical outbreak of “a pirate’s life for me!” Now, I’m a lover of all things pirate-related (especially Johnny Depp), but personally, I’m glad this theme wasn’t carried throughout the songs. Regardless of how much talent may be there, it’s hard to take a band seriously when they’ve got peg legs and they’re singing about walking gangplanks, y’know? And make no mistake; Set Your Goals should definitely be taken seriously!

Their album opens with the song “Work in Progress,” which is one of my favourites off the album. It’s a beautifully melodic little ditty that kicks you in the balls when you least expect it. This song keeps you on your toes and sets the mood for the entire album: exciting and full of energy, with a beat that even the scene-est of kids find themselves moving along to.

Another personal song of choice would be track five, “This Song is Definitely NOT About a Girl.” Like the rest of the tracks, it’s energetic and chaotic… almost to the point of non-control. It has a really punk feel, while at the same time maintaining the harmonious vocals and group chants that can be found on the entire album. It also has a bit of an emotional connotation for me: it’s the first song I’d ever heard by Set Your Goals, riding in my best friend’s car while some guy hung precariously out the back window, singing at the top of his lungs. Don’t believe me? I’ve got the video to prove it.

This album isn’t flawless by any means. The lyrics can be a little cheesy at times, and the gang chants are a bit overused (unless you’re into that sort of thing, in which case, the more the merrier!) But it’s real, and it’s honest. Mutiny! has the uncanny ability to lift me up, even when I’m feeling really low – and that’s what defines a great album for me. The nub and jist? Mutiny! is a swashbuckling good time!

Arr, matey. Eight dubloons out of ten, she be!  [ END ]

Track Listing:

01. Work In Progress
02. We Do it for the Money, OBVIOUSLY!
03. Dead Men Tell No Tales
04. Mutiny!
05. This Song is Definitely NOT About a Girl
06. Old Book Misread
07. This Very Moment
08. Flight of the Navigator
09. To Be Continued…
10. Don’t Let This Win Over You
11. Echoes

Run Time: 29:33
Release Date: 2006