Connect with us

Album Review

Revolution Mother

Enjoy The Ride [EP] (2006)



Revolution Mother, the newest musical project fronted by professional skateboarder Mike Vallely, will embark on its first tour this summer, covering over a dozen States on the West and East Coast. The punk/metal quartet will join the Zumiez Couch Tour, performing with CKY on selected dates. In addition, Revolution Mother will also spearhead Vallely’s new Rebel Music Tour, which sports an eclectic lineup, including veteran singer/songwriter Joe Grushecky (who has performed with Bruce Springsteen) and post-hardcore outfit A Fall From Grace.

Formed in late 2005, Revolution Mother will release its debut recording, a five-song EP titled Enjoy The Ride (released via MVI), on August 8, 2006. The band – which also features guitarist Jason Hampton (The Suppression Swing, The Third Degree), bassist Ed Solis (ZOD, Matador) and drummer Wal Rashidi (La Motta, Jr. Juggernaut) – has already been compared to early punk-based artists like Black Flag, Bl’ast and Motorhead.

Revolution Mother offers up an arsenal of blues-based overdriven riffs, punishing hardcore rhythms, dynamic vocal deliveries and an uninhibited thirst for raw energy, which has led to comparisons to acts like the abovementioned groups and even AC/DC.

Enjoy The Ride features a host of styles, tempos and directions, showcasing the many facets of Revolution Mother’s direct-hitting approach. As for the lyrical direction, Vallely notes the prevailing theme is self-perseverance. “From the guy searching for a more meaningful existence in “Goodbye,” to the unflinching ‘stand strong’ stance of the lyrics of “Never Die,” these songs are about taking everything the world has to throw at you, taking your beatings, learning your lessons and getting up and getting on with it.”

This Band has an “Old School Punk/ Rockin’ Roll” feel to them for sure; It’s really well done and for Mike V what a lucky dude, ‘cuz not too many people get to be a Pro Skater and Rock Star as one… HAHA! A 7.5 out of 10 for sure.  [ END ]

Track Listing:

01. Goodbye
02. Second Thoughts
03. Bullet
04. Gravity
05. Never Die

Run Time: 21:10