Connect with us

Album News

MAAFA Announces Long-Awaited Debut Album; Drops Single “Deficit”

Hardcore punk trailblazers MAAFA have announced their long-awaited debut full-length album, ‘Because We Are,’ and dropped their first single, “Deficit.”



MAAFA, photo by Jeanette D. Moses

Hardcore punk trailblazers MAAFA have emerged from the wreckage of the past half-decade since their 2017 Demo EP to announce their long-awaited debut full-length album, titled Because We Are, slated for release on Juneteenth this year (June 19, 2023). Prepare to be engulfed in a vortex of raw energy and unyielding spirit as MAAFA, the groundbreaking self-dubbed ‘Afro-Progressive Hardcore’ punk ensemble, begins the reckoning with their first single, “Deficit.” With a careful composition of crushing guitars, ecstatic percussion, and unapologetic lyricism, MAAFA sets a new benchmark for not just the hardcore punk scene, but for the heavy music landscape as a whole.

Embarking on a journey that transcends musical boundaries, MAAFA has captivated audiences around the globe, leaving a trail of awe and inspiration in their wake. At the helm of this sonic revolution is Afro-Brazilian bassist Flora Lucini, the band’s founder, composer, and vocalist. Her indomitable presence in bands has spread throughout the hardcore punk scenes of Washington, DC, New York, and beyond for the past two decades.

Because We Are stands as a testament to MAAFA’s unyielding determination and their unwavering commitment to their craft. This highly anticipated album serves as a manifesto of their resilience, taking listeners on an introspective pilgrimage through the depths of the human experience. From the gut-wrenching cries of discontent to the empowering anthems of solidarity, each track unravels a different layer of the band’s artistic prowess.

To set the stage for their forthcoming masterpiece, MAAFA unleashes the electrifying single “Deficit” from Because We Are. A sonic onslaught that reverberates through the veins, “Deficit” serves as a mere taste of the immersive journey that awaits within the album’s depths. With razor-sharp guitars, thunderous drums, and Lucini’s commanding vocals, the single is a blood pact of things to come.

Because We Are Track Listing:

1. Origém (Intro)
2. Welfare
3. Deficit
4. Libation
5. A Luta Continua (Interlude)
6. Filha Da Luta
7. Not Your Exotic
8. For The Culture (ft. Christylez Bacon)
9. Dichotomy
10. Blindspot

MAAFA “Deficit” single artwork

Born in 2003, V13 was a socio-political website that, in 2005, morphed into PureGrainAudio and spent 15 years developing into one of Canada's (and the world’s) leading music sites. On the eve of the site’s 15th anniversary, a full re-launch and rebrand takes us back to our roots and opens the door to a full suite of Music, Film, TV, and Cultural content.