Yorkshire’s Louise Distras finally makes her long-awaited return with her second album Beauty After Bruises, out on April 28th via Ministry Of Love Records Department.

Though often referred to as a punk artist, Louise says she’s much more than that. “I’ve just always tried to write good songs that come straight from the heart, and songs that I want to hear,” she explains. “I was brought up on groups like the Bee Gees, Queen, ABBA and ELO. The thing I love the most about pop music is that there’s no stage big enough for it. So it doesn’t matter where I sing these songs, or even who hears me, as long as the people are welcome. From the start that’s always been my philosophy.”

To make this new record, Louise headed to San Francisco, California, to record with Ross Peterson (Bruce Springsteen, Elle King, John Mayer) at 25th Street Studios. As soon as she arrived, she knew she was supposed to be there.

“San Francisco was the west coast stomping ground for the writers of the beat generation,” she says. “It’s a place of great significance for me as an ex-teenage runaway, because in the so-called “summer of love” alot of disenfrancised kids dropped out en masse and flocked to San Francisco with no money and no place to go, just the blind belief that when you get there you’ll be taken care of…but there’s razor blades in the candy floss. So by the whims of the great magnet I knew I was exactly where I was supposed to be when I stepped off the plane. Hunter S Thompson said San Francisco is the kinda place where you can strike sparks anywhere, so it was the perfect place for me to make my record.”

Beauty After Bruises Track Listing:

1. Truth In Your Lies
2. Girl In The Mirror
3. Love And Money
4. Factory Girl
5. Broken Mondays
6. Hollywood Drug
7. Time Heals Nothing
8. Forever Is You
9. Single But Taken
10. Run With Wild Horses
11. Black Skies
12. Keep On Trying

Louise Distras ‘Beauty After Bruises’ album artwork
Louise Distras ‘Beauty After Bruises’ album artwork

Born in 2003, V13 was a socio-political website that, in 2005, morphed into PureGrainAudio and spent 15 years developing into one of Canada's (and the world’s) leading music sites. On the eve of the site’s 15th anniversary, a full re-launch and rebrand takes us back to our roots and opens the door to a full suite of Music, Film, TV, and Cultural content.