Bush has announced their ninth full-length album, The Art of Survival, which will drop on October 7th, 2022, via BMG. Accompanying the news is the record’s lead single, “More Than Machines,” plus confirmation of a lengthy U.S. tour with Alice In Chains and Breaking Benjamin.

Commenting on the “More Than Machines” single, frontman Gavin Rossdale states:

“This is an action-packed song with three really big topics. Off the bat, I don’t understand how anyone has the audacity to get involved or assume responsibility for women’s bodies. I wanted to reference that because it’s important to discuss. As much as the song is about the destruction of women’s rights, it’s about the destruction of the planet and the move for A.I. and a world of robots to replace us. It’s a topic we’ve heard since the fifties. I’m not here to teach anything though; my job is medieval like a town crier. I come into town with my elixirs and sing about it, so it hopefully goes out into the universe.”

Rossdale adds, “Instead of being mournful or self-piteous, this is about the success stories of humanity’s survival against the odds. People just find a way to push through. We’ve all obviously suffered in varying degrees. I think the nature of life is the art of survival. Everyone is being tested all of the time, but we find a way. In recent memory, we’ve made major strides and shown great resilience in the face of war, endless instances of racism, gender politics, a pandemic, and a melting pot of what we’ve experienced. For me, The Art of Survival encompasses all of this.”

The Art of Survival Track Listing:

1. Heavy Is The Ocean
2. Slow Me
3. More Than Machines
4. May Your Love Be Pure
5. Shark Bite
6. Human Sand
7. Kiss Me I’m Dead
8. Identity
9. Creatures of the Fire
10. Judas Is A Riot
11. Gunfight
12. 1000 Years

Artwork for the single “More Than Machines” by Bush
Artwork for the album ‘The Art of Survival’ by Bush

​​Tour Dates:

Sat Aug 6 – Saint Michael, ND – Spirit Lake Casino
Sun Aug 7 – Sturgis, ND – Sturgis Buffalo Chip
Wed Aug 10 – Burgettstown, PA – The Pavilion at Star Lake
Thu Aug 11 – Camden, NJ – Waterfront Music Pavilion
Sat Aug 13 – Syracuse, NY – St. Joseph’s Health Amphitheater at Lakeview
Sun Aug 14 – Wantagh, NY – Northwell Health at Jones Beach Theater
Tue Aug 16 – Clarkston, MI – Pine Knob Music Theatre
Wed Aug 17 – Noblesville, IN – Ruoff Music Center
Fri Aug 19 – Bonner Springs, KS – Azura Amphitheater
Sat Aug 20 – Council Bluffs, IA – Westfair Amphitheater
Mon Aug 22 – Milwaukee, WI – American Family Insurance Amphitheater
Wed Aug 24 – Tinley Park, IL – Hollywood Casino Amphitheatre – Chicago, IL
Thu Aug 25 – Minneapolis, MN – Minnesota State Fair Grandstand
Sat Aug 27 – Englewood, CO – Fiddler’s Green Amphitheatre
Mon Aug 29 – Salt Lake City, UT – USANA Amphitheatre
Wed Aug 31 – Bend, OR – Hayden Homes Amphitheater
Fri Sep 2 – Ridgefield, WA – RV Inn Style Resorts Amphitheater
Sat Sep 3 – Auburn, WA – White River Ampitheatre [Pain In The Grass 2022]
Mon Sep 5 – Mountain View, CA – Shoreline Amphitheatre
Wed Sep 7 – Wheatland, CA – Toyota Amphitheatre
Thu Sep 8 – Irvine, CA – FivePoint Amphitheatre
Sat Sep 10 – Phoenix, AZ – Ak-Chin Pavilion
Sun Sep 11 – Albuquerque, NM – Isleta Amphitheater
Wed Sep 14 – Del Valle, TX – Germania Insurance Amphitheater
Fri Sep 16 – Dallas, TX – Dos Equis Pavilion
Sat Sep 17 – The Woodlands, TX – Cynthia Woods Mitchell Pavilion
Tue Sep 20 – Rogers, AR – Walmart AMP
Wed Sep 21 – Maryland Heights, MO – Hollywood Casino Amphitheatre – St. Louis, MO
Fri Sep 23 – Mount Pleasant, MI – Soaring Eagle Casino
Tue Sep 27 – Raleigh, NC – Coastal Credit Union Music Park at Walnut Creek
Wed Sep 28 – Alpharetta, GA – Ameris Bank Amphitheatre
Fri Sep 30 – Tampa, FL – MIDFLORIDA Credit Union Amphitheatre at the FL State Fairgrounds
Sat Oct 1 – West Palm Beach, FL – iTHINK Financial Amphitheatre
Tue Oct 4 – Charlotte, NC – PNC Music Pavilion
Wed Oct 5 – Bristow, VA – Jiffy Lube Live
Fri Oct 7 – Holmdel, NJ – PNC Bank Arts Center
Sat Oct 8 – Mansfield, MA – Xfinity Center

Author

Born in 2003, V13 was a socio-political website that, in 2005, morphed into PureGrainAudio and spent 15 years developing into one of Canada's (and the world’s) leading music sites. On the eve of the site’s 15th anniversary, a full re-launch and rebrand takes us back to our roots and opens the door to a full suite of Music, Film, TV, and Cultural content.