Honestly, I was sold on Servants Of Violence, the debut album from Milton Keynes brutalists Casket Feeder, at “Blending the chainsaw fury of Swedish Death Metal with UK Hardcore’s sledgehammer groove…” A perfect description of this scathing onslaught, hearing the band thunder into “Mask of Sorrow,” it’s impossible to find a more suitable way to describe Servants Of Violence.

The follow-up to their Scalps EP, Servants Of Violence is a savage affair from the outset. By the time the album has reached “Vulture Culture,” a couple of tracks in, you really start to hear the buzzsaw death metal guitars in full flow. By now you can hear the Scandinavian death metal influences seeping through in their sound while nods to the likes of both Cannibal Corpse and Slayer add colour to this twin guitar assault. Theme-wise, Servants Of Violence leans heavily towards the darker side of cults around the world, and hearing vocalist Matt Downes howl his way through the likes of “Tyranny Begins,” be they religious or political targets, his feelings on the subject are clear for all to see.

With a name like Servants Of Violence, you’d be expecting the occasional route one moment and you get, unsurprisingly so, on tracks like “Wading Through the Dead and Deceased” and “Sentenced To Death.” From Downes’ abrasive vocals to the breakneck guitar work, these two tracks alone show the Milton Keynes band at their most violent. That being said, there are no real breaks in the death metal onslaught. However, for all the face-melting ferocity dished out by the group, when they hit a groove as they do on tracks like “Manifested Ignorance,” it’s impossible to stop that head from nodding along.

Over the past couple of years, the UK metal scene has spat out some incredible bands. From death metal to hardcore to mathcore to punk rock, the wealth of underground talent is breathtaking to see. While COVID might have derailed these Milton Keynes maulers for a couple of years, Casket Feeder have spent those two years hiding away honing their ferocious death metal/hardcore inspired brutality into something which, as Servants Of Violence shows, is truly potent.

Servants of Violence Track Listing:

1. To The Hounds Go the Faithful
2. Mask Of Sorrow
3. Vulture Culture
4. Tyranny Begins
5. Doomsday Prophecy
6. Wading Through the Dead and Deceased
7. Servants Of Violence
8. Sentenced To Death
9. Manifested Ignorance
10. Edge Of Collapse

Run Time: 39:09
Release Date: May 20, 2022
Record Label: Self-Release


I have an unhealthy obsession with bad horror movies, the song Wanted Dead Or Alive and crap British game shows. I do this not because of the sex, drugs and rock 'n' roll lifestyle it affords me but more because it gives me an excuse to listen to bands that sound like hippos mating.