Music is an expression of moods and emotions and there are few better bands at capturing those feelings into sound than Leeds art/indie rock band Alt-J who are on tour supporting their 2021 album The Dream. As the tour arrived at Rock City in Nottingham, we dispatched our photographer, Carla Mundy, along to capture the band in all their creative glory.

Hypnotizing the crowd with six tracks from their new disc, the Leeds group kicked off their set with “Bane,” the opening track from The Dream, returning to the album for current single “The Actor.” Transforming that atmosphere from studio recordings into a live environment is something Alt-J take in their stride and this tour is no different. Atmospheric and creative use of lighting adds to the mood of the night as the band delves into their award-winning back catalogue to treat long-time fans to favourites like “Deadcrush” and “Matilda.”

Alt-J is one of those bands that simply command your attention when they play live, both visually and musically. Over the years they’ve taken their live experience out everywhere from clubs to arenas to festivals. On this current run, playing in venues as intimate as Rock City, there is no more perfect a location for fans to soak up the atmosphere and emotion of new picks like “U&ME” and “Hard Drive Gold” along with a wealth of older tracks like “Bloodflood” and the above-mentioned “Matilda.”

Alt-J @ Rock City (Nottingham, UK) on May 12, 2022

Alt-J Set List:

1. Bane
2. Every Other Freckle
3. The Actor
4. In Cold Blood
5. Deadcrush
6. ❦ (Ripe & Ruin)
7. Tessellate
8. U&ME
9. Matilda
10. Chicago
11. Something Good
12. Nara
13. The Gospel of John Hurt
14. Bloodflood
15. Philadelphia
16. Taro
17. Dissolve Me
18. Fitzpleasure
19. Left Hand Free
20. Hard Drive Gold
21. Breezeblocks