What was once our defiant view by default is now injected and subjugated by rock n’ roll with a twist of fate in a mirrored reflection of our then and now. Maturing with grace, Electric Boys have dropped the cosmetics and Aquanet and have dressed for the occasion as a roots rock n’ roll band instead of burning out the same old formula. Ups!de Down has fabulous intentions of revitalizing the sounds of legend delivered retro vs. contemporary. This paper plate vs. silver platter syndrome of cold boogers vs. hot snot will drag you down into the dirty rock n’ roll underground, all the while trying to remain eloquent with a cool new suit and tie guy style.

Besides the overly lengthy intro to the album, which is not only strange but also misplaced, we get down with cocktails on rocks by the third track “Tumbling Dominoes.” This fair midnight anthem with vocal harmonies ala Led Zep and Queen grinds kaleidoscopes and shoots us to the moon and back tiptoeing on the verge of interplanetary climax. “Never Again Your Slave” is another kick to the teeth track leaning heavily on Alice Cooper vaudeville while “The Dudes & The Dancers” have it all with worldwide lyrics that provoke our inner animal. This is the perfect ending to any party with the familiar call to arms, “you don’t have to go home but you can’t stay here.”

Conny Bloom, with mic in hand twirls and belts out the closing time anthem, “The dudes and the dancers, the Hollywood prancers, where are they now? Our nights were long, turned into days, and turned into one more night. As the cars were crashing along the winding road I was praying for my life. People were getting high and snorting little mountains of cocaine, while the girl just kept on dancing and dancing though I never knew her real name.”

Now, this isn’t the ending of the album… but it should be. The last few tracks are kind of lacklustre and get lost in afterthought after everything you’ve just digested and inhaled.

Through any kind of mushy madness infiltrated by an 80/20’s mix-matched hodgepodge, Electric Boys’ Ups!de Down still has enough gypsy tone and ever-loving incense that will leave you dusted and hypnotized. It’s still the same game, only our age and names have changed.

Ups!de Down Track Listing:

1. Upside Down Theme
2. Super God
3. Tumblin’ Dominoes
4. Never Again Your Slave
5. She Never Turns Around
6. Globestrutter
7. The Dudes & The Dancers
8. Twang ‘Em and Kerrang ‘Em
9. It’s Not the End
10. Interstellafella

Run Time: 45:17
Release Date: April 30, 2021
Record Label: Mighty Music / SPV


I was born in the late 60's amongst hippies and bikers. Cut my teeth on 70's rock and roll surrounded by motorheads and potheads, and in the 80's spread my wings and flourished as a guitarist. In the 90's I became a semi-professional musician knocking on death metals door, as well as entering the world as a freelance writer. In the 2000's I moved to Hollywood and watched the music industry crumble in front of my dreams and then took a break. Now, in the early 2020s I'm ready to rock again… or swing, blues, bluegrass, country, jazz, classical, etc. Its not so much a job to me anymore, but a great way to express myself and have a good time, and, "I know, its only rock and roll but I like it".