The onset of a new year brought us LOTS of new music. January was teeming with new releases and sounds from contemporary indie artists. We’ve rounded up five of our favourite releases that kicked off 2021 to share with you!

1. TobyRaps – “Exercise”

The only music video on our roundup, TobyRaps’ “Exercise” video is the perfect fun-loving, punchy track to kick off the new year. A tongue-in-cheek video meant to lift listener’s spirits and motivate them…. especially during these very trying times…. TobyRaps points out that happiness is a work ethic – something we have to consistently work to maintain. This contributes to his upcoming album, Make Yourself Happy, releasing later this year.

2. Your Paris – “First”

Nick Babcock and Laila Kharouba – the duo that makes up Your Paris – released “First” as a dreamy, floating pop track capturing both love and heartbreak at the same time. Only getting started in 2020, the duo has already made a splash with their other single “Rooms” which landed on three Spotify editorial playlists: New Music Friday Canada, It’s a Bop, and Fresh Finds: Pop.

3. Sophie Egan – “Someone To Meet”

An enigmatic pop single, “Someone To Meet” is the fourth release from emerging artist Sophie Egan. Created in collaboration with her producer brother, Harry Egan, (think Billie Eilish and Finneas vibes), “Someone To Meet” embodies an enigmatic pop soundscape that highlights Sophie’s vocals and draws comparison to the Lover era of Taylor Swift.

4. TREASVRE – “Heavy Arms/Secrets”

A double-single released from the San Francisco Bay area rock band, “Heavy Arms / Secrets” takes listeners on a journey, exploring the conflict so many of us experience when we struggle to leave something—or someone—behind. Juxtaposing the desperation to hold on against the freedom that comes with letting go, fans will feel triumphant and ready to move forward by the end of the second song.

5. Prince of Sweden – “Next Time There’ll Be Violins”

A singer-songwriter from south London with a penchant for introspective lyricism, Prince of Sweden swept us away with his angelic folk soundscape behind “Next Time There’ll Be Violins.” Prince of Sweden takes listeners through a timeless song with strong acoustic and rock influences.


Dawn Jones is the curator of the V13 imPRESSED Column. Previously known as imPRESSED Indie Music Blog, Jones and her team joined forces with V13 in 2020 to collaborate on an exclusive column on V13's site (imPRESSED) to bring a niche focus to the rapidly evolving indie music genre. Dawn is also the founder of Pressed PR - a boutique PR agency that focuses on PR for independent creatives. Pressed PR’s team works on a variety of campaigns partnering with independent filmmakers, independent artists, and independent labels. Pressed PR’s music clientele has landed in the pages of Billboard, Atwood Magazine, EARMILK, HYPE Magazine, and many others.