Hardcore upstarts Year Of The Knife have released a new song “Manipulation Artist.” The song is taken off the band’s upcoming debut full-length, Internal Incarceration, out August 7, 2020, via Pure Noise Records.

Speaking about the song the band said “This song is about questioning your own sanity while you are trapped in a cycle of abuse from a manipulative, toxic partner. One day of happiness overshadows the pain until it starts all over again.”

Talking about how loss, grief, and addiction to compassion provide inspiration to their music, guitarist Madison Watkins explains, “Almost every straight edge person I know has been touched by loss. Those experiences can make you feel alone, but they’re something a lot of people within hardcore have gone through and can relate to. People that gravitate towards this music often have this darkness in their lives, but hardcore can be a beacon where they can find community and relief. It can be a really incredible outlet for getting that negativity out and finding people who understand you.” Internal Incarceration directly confronts that darkness, redirects it into music and lyrics, and provides the band with one of their most powerful traits: their ability to channel pain and aggression into something cleansing and connecting.”

Internal Incarceration Track Listing:

1. This Time
2. Virtual Narcotic
3. Stay Away
4. Manipulation Artist
5. Final Tears
6. Internal Incarceration
7. Premonitions of You
8. Though The Eyes
9. Sick Statistic
10. Eviction
11. Nothing To Nobody
12. Get It Out
13. DDM

Last month the band debuted the first taster from the new album in the form of “Virtual Narcotic”.

Artwork for ‘Internal Incarceration’ by Year of the Knife

I have an unhealthy obsession with bad horror movies, the song Wanted Dead Or Alive and crap British game shows. I do this not because of the sex, drugs and rock 'n' roll lifestyle it affords me but more because it gives me an excuse to listen to bands that sound like hippos mating.