Comedian, musician, and BAFTA award-winning actor, Matt Berry has confirmed a new album titled Phantom Birds will drop on September 18th via Acid Jazz Records. The artist has also debuted a stream of the recording’s lead single, “Something In My Eye.” Phantom Birds, his six solo albums, follows 2018’s Television Themes and sees Berry on vocal duties along with most of the instrumentation, with help from pedal steel guitarist BJ Cole and drummer Craig Blundell (Steven Wilson, Steve Hackett).

Berry commented on the lead track, stating, “It’s a song about putting a brave face on. telling everyone you’re fine, when in reality you’re really not at all. Not necessarily something you always hear from a male perspective.”

Phantom Birds Track Listing:

1. Something In My Eye
2. Danced All Night
3. Phantom Birds
4. Moonlight Flit
5. Man Of Doom
6. Where’s My Love
7. Take A Bow
8. Intermission
9. Hail To The King
10. In My Mind
11. That Yellow Bird
12. Waving Goodbye
13. Covered In Clowns

Artwork for ‘Phantom Birds’ by Matt Berry

Born in 2003, V13 was a socio-political website that, in 2005, morphed into PureGrainAudio and spent 15 years developing into one of Canada's (and the world’s) leading music sites. On the eve of the site’s 15th anniversary, a full re-launch and rebrand takes us back to our roots and opens the door to a full suite of Music, Film, TV, and Cultural content.