Everyone could use a nice glass of Milk to keep their day moving along strong. Whether it’s cow’s milk, soy milk, almond milk, or even Night Goat milk, it all does a body good. Well, noise rockers Night Goat may not be refreshing to the taste buds, but they sure as hell are refreshing to the ear buds, and fans are going to lap up the new record Milk. Specializing in scuzzy, fuzzy noise rock, the quartet couldn’t be any more thrilled to be releasing their debut album on December 13th. Sure, you got the first listen here, but you can pre-order/purchase the record now via Bandcamp.

With some words regarding the new record, the band stated, “Our album Milk was recorded by JC Griffin at Lakebottom Recording House in Toledo, Ohio, (he’s recorded epic albums by Cloud Rat, Pythian, Sog City and many more) and mastered by Carl Saff in Chicago. We recorded screws in jars, breathing, weird ambient sounds and then ran them through various stompboxes and noisemakers. We layered this ’noise’ throughout the album. Our goal was to give the listener an uncomfortable and angular experience without fully giving up on the voice, chorus, verse format. Artwork is very important to us and conceptually we wanted to make something that fans could sit down with and look at while listening to the music. The artwork was created by the amazing and talented Canton artist Tim Eakin, and (guitarist) Chris (Bentley) designed it. Milk was a labour of love, and is meant to be listened to at full volume.”

Now is about a good time for that Milk:

One of the real highlights of Milk as an album is the ferociousness that vocalist Julia Bentley pours her heart into. Emphasized by her dark and atmospheric lyrics, her delivery is as warped as the words she chooses in which to express herself. Julia is the wife of guitar player Chris and in tandem, the couple proves throughout the record that their mutual chemistry transcends perfectly into their songwriting. Chris’ guitar riffs deliver the crunch necessary for creating the “noise” that makes this a very competent, up-and-coming noise rock outfit. Not to be overlooked, Dalin Jones, also of hardcore punk band Trunk Ride, and Donnie Casey provide the thundering rhythms to help bring it all together.

Night Goat has already received much exposure throughout their home state of Ohio, opening for Cherubs, and also playing other popular shows with Whores, Low Dose, False Gods, and Backwoods Payback. This is noise rock the way it should be and the way it was meant to be. Don’t be surprised if you’re overwhelmed by the symphony of distortion and noise. It’s a perfectly normal reaction upon getting a nice cup of Milk from the Night Goat.

From the new album Milk, check out the lyric video for “Malachi”:

Milk Track Listing:

01. Smearcase on Shorb
02. Dirty Candy
03. Malachai
04. Chubby Leech
05. Jerusalem’s lot
06. Gnarltooth Grim
07. My Axe (Your Ribcage)
08. Head Lice
09. Bonemeal
10. The Greys

Upcoming Tour Dates:

12/28 – Cleveland, Ohio @ Buzzbin Art & Music Shop (w/ Stillborn Prodigy, Sons of Ghidorah, Swamp Drag) (Facebook event listing)

Check out the artwork for Night Goat’s debut record Milk:


Publisher, CEO, and Co-Founder - Born in 2003, V13 was a socio-political website that, in 2005, morphed into PureGrainAudio and spent 15 years developing into one of Canada (and the world’s) leading music sites. On the eve the site’s 15th anniversary, a full re-launch and rebrand takes us back to our roots and opens the door to a full suite of Music, Film, TV, and Cultural content.