The Skinny: Occult black metal tyrants Ascension have released “Deathless Light,” the first track taken from their forthcoming new album, The Dead of the World – listen below. The band will release The Dead of the World on December 24th in North America on CD. The track list and album art for The Dead of the World can be seen below.

Ascension’s The Dead of the World follows the band’s ambitious debut album, Consolamentum (2010). Through rare festival appearances and a penchant for orthodox black metal in both aural and visual presentation, Ascension has instantly become a staple in the European and North American black metal underground. The German band has played prestigious festivals such as Maryland Deathfest, Deathkult Open Air, HellFest and more, on the backs of a well received EP, demo, and formidable full-length.

The Dead of the World Track Listing:

01. The Silence of Abel
02. Death’s Golden Temple
03. Black Ember
04. Unlocking Tiamat
05. Deathless Light
06. The Dark Tomb Shines
07. Mortui Mundi

Publisher, CEO, and Co-Founder - Born in 2003, V13 was a socio-political website that, in 2005, morphed into PureGrainAudio and spent 15 years developing into one of Canada (and the world’s) leading music sites. On the eve the site’s 15th anniversary, a full re-launch and rebrand takes us back to our roots and opens the door to a full suite of Music, Film, TV, and Cultural content.