The Skinny: Washington DC’s Fairweather will release their third full-length album, and first album in over a decade, on April 1. The self-titled album will be released through the band’s longtime label, Equal Vision Records. The five-piece outfit will host a record release show on March 29 at Black Cat – which is the same venue where the band held their initial reunion show in 2011. The band went on to play a handful of shows over the last few years, before eventually deciding to continue on and record a new album. Today, the band is also premiering “Carte Blanche” – the first track off of the forthcoming album – on YouTube. The ten-track album was recorded at Studio V with the band’s very own Ben Green serving as producer.

Fairweather is the most straightforward thing we’ve ever recorded. Our goal was to make this sound like us playing our songs together, no fancy mixing or overdubs, and no overly complex song structures. On Lusitania, we embellished quite a bit – and this record was done with almost the opposite intent. It probably contains our fastest and most aggressive material to date as well. To me, it sounds the most like ‘us’ of anything we’ve ever done. It’s loud, urgent, and human,” shares Green.

Fairweather Track Listing:

01. Carte Blanche
02. Reset Position
03. Survival Is Not Enough
04. Memoria
05. Doubt The Doubtless
06. Clear Skies, Full Sails
07. Kill The Silence
08. Last Words
09. Still Waiting
10. No Flags to Fly


Born in 2003, V13 was a socio-political website that, in 2005, morphed into PureGrainAudio and spent 15 years developing into one of Canada's (and the world’s) leading music sites. On the eve of the site’s 15th anniversary, a full re-launch and rebrand takes us back to our roots and opens the door to a full suite of Music, Film, TV, and Cultural content.