The name alone immediately conjures up thoughts of Classic Rock and Roll accentuated by solid guitar playing. As a long time staple on the music scene and I would say innovator of the genre, The Steve Miller Band has consistently churned out hit after hit for the past few decades. The band’s newest release, Bingo! carries on that long standing tradition that we have come to expect. I feel it is with great confidence that you can pick up a CD from The Steve Miller Band and find songs that are fun, energizing and at times familiar.

Bingo! is a very good album top to bottom. The Steve Miller Band does not stray far from their trademark sound, but why change something that has worked so good for so long? This album comes at the perfect time of the year for me as I feel each of the tunes are inherently geared to the listening environment I enjoy the most; sitting on my great big front porch, ice cold beverage in hand, watching the world pass by on the street in front of me with not a care in the world.

The songs are not so technically complicated to the point of distraction, nor is the lyrical content so deep that you really need to concentrate on the message; for me the message is really loud and clear, ‘nothing but a good time.’

I don’t know that I can single out any one track that would be a favorite of mine, but if hard pressed to do so I would have to say the interestingly titled “Ooh Poo Pah Doo.” Not only is the title amusing, but the song also has a sort of bluesy/doo wop/pop thing going on that becomes quite infectious.

This is definitely not the usual metal fare I am used to reviewing for this magazine, but I can honestly say that Bingo! is well worth a listen. Step outside the box and your comfort zone and check this one out. This is a legendary band that has been releasing fun, relevant music for decades and you have got to give them props for that.  [ END ]

Track Listing:

01. Hey Yeah
02. Who’s Been Talkin’?
03. Don’t Cha Know
04. Rock Me Baby
05. Tramp
06. Sweet Soul Vibe
07. Come On (Let The Good Times Roll)
08. All Your Love (I Miss Loving)
09. You Got Me Dizzy
10. Ooh Poo Pah Doo

Run Time: 32:10
Release Date: 06.15.2010