Technical dissonance and discordance abound on the self-titled release from Here Comes The Kraken. This disc is inexorably heavy and dishes out a brutal bludgeoning from beginning to end.

Production wise, Here Comes The Kraken is muddy as hell and at times it is difficult to make out the various instrumentation amidst the overpowering distortion and the screaming, almost irritating vocals. This is especially evident on the second track “Into The Slaughter Basement”, especially which, quite honestly, was difficult to listen to and gave me a bit of a headache.

Lyrically the band spews forth a mixture of venom, bile and evil that again is a bit much for me. I have said it here before but there seems to be a trend among some bands to try and push the envelope on what is considered music. I believe this might be the case with Lord Mantis. Everything seems to be pushed to the max, the distortion, the screaming, the lyrics.

I am not sure what to really make of this disc. There is no variety or even a break from the punishment and even though the band are extremely technical I don’t feel it is enough to make me want to listen to anymore of it. I am sure that this CD is not for me. If you are a fan of extreme metal, you may dig this, but if you are like me and demand a bit of coherence and sensibility to your music, or at the very least like to be able to make out what is going on, than steer clear of this.  [ END ]

Track Listing:

01. It’s Coming
02. Don’t Fail Me Darko
03. Into The Slaughter Basement
04. Confessions Of What I have Done
05. Miss Starving Skeleton
06. Coplex
07. Underwater Visions
08. The Legend Of The Rent Is Way Hardcore
09. From The Deepest Darkness
10. i_shawtrcwbky

Run Time: 35:30