Connect with us

Album News

CNTS Tease Sophomore Album ‘Thoughts & Prayers’ with “Smart Mouth” Single

CNTS, the noisy Los Angeles punk band, return with their sophomore album, ‘Thoughts & Prayers,’ on March 29 via Ipecac Recordings.



CNTS, photo by Anthony Mehlhaff
CNTS, photo by Anthony Mehlhaff

CNTS are back! The noisy Los Angeles punk band featuring members of Dead Cross, Retox and Qui return with their sophomore album, Thoughts & Prayers, on March 29 via Ipecac. Recordings.

Featuring guitarist/producer Mike Crain (Dead Cross, Retox, Festival of Dead Deer), drummer Kevin Avery (Retox, Planet B), and vocalist Matt Cronk (Qui), Thoughts & Prayers marks a significant comeback for the band. Following a devastating car accident that tragically resulted in the loss of Cronk’s voice, casting doubts over the future of CNTS, the band’s existence and Cronk’s career were both in jeopardy. Defying medical expectations, Cronk experienced a remarkable recovery when his damaged vocal cord began to heal. Within just two months, he regained his voice, paving the way for the resurrection of CNTS.

Cronk comments:

“We got together and ran through a song and it sounded good. We kept playing and my voice held up, sounded cool, and we all felt good playing together. It was immediately clear that we could do it again, that we’d really missed playing together and we wanted to do it. Personally, the experience was a significant marker in my recovery. I got a little teary after that first song.”

Reinvigorated by Cronk’s recovery, CNTS spent the rest of the year hard at work on their new record, Thoughts & Prayers, the title inspired by the banality of our collective reaction to crises. With a great deal of inspiration from their recent challenges, CNTS channelled several years of frustration and hardship into the well-articulated and aggressive statement that became the 10-song collection.

CNTS play the Caterwaul Music Festival (Minneapolis) in May, with more shows to be announced soon.

Thought & Prayers Track Listing:

1. I Won’t Work For You
2. Thoughts & Prayers
3. Smart Mouth
4. Dear Sir
5. For A Good Time (Don’t Call Her)
6. Alone
7. Eating You Alive
8. Real Truth
9. Junkie
10. Drown

CNTS ‘Thoughts & Prayers’ abum artwork

CNTS ‘Thoughts & Prayers’ abum artwork

Born in 2003, V13 was a socio-political website that, in 2005, morphed into PureGrainAudio and spent 15 years developing into one of Canada's (and the world’s) leading music sites. On the eve of the site’s 15th anniversary, a full re-launch and rebrand takes us back to our roots and opens the door to a full suite of Music, Film, TV, and Cultural content.