Connect with us


Peripheral Vision Premiere the Video for Their Finely Crafted “Cone Of Silence” Single

Canadian jazz ensemble Peripheral Vision premiere their new music video for “Cone Of Silence,” off their ‘We’ve Got Nothing’ record.



Peripheral Vision, photo by Brittany Farhat (Good Job Hi Five)

You’re observing ultra-high-level musicianship in action in the music video for Peripheral Vision’s new single “Cone Of Silence.” You can detect the comfort and experience as the band members seamlessly play off of each other. It’s no wonder the Toronto quartet has become one of the most exciting and dynamic ensembles internationally in their time together.

“Cone Of Silence” comes from Peripheral Vision’s new record entitled We’ve Got Nothing. It’s actually more of a multimedia project, which was directly funded by the Canadian Council for the Arts. It features both the album and additional content in live music videos.

Discussing “Cone Of Silence,” guitarist Don Scott explains:

“‘Cone of Silence’ is an expression used in the Peripheral Vision tour van to say, ‘this doesn’t leave the van.’ It invokes confidentiality, camaraderie, and maybe complicity. The video, filmed by Good Job Hi Five, starts with a black and white intro showing the band excited to be arriving at the Tranzac in Toronto where they have had a long running monthly gig, and where the We’ve Got Nothing videos and album were made.”

Scott is complemented within Peripheral Vision by his primary collaborator, bassist Michael Herring. They are longtime associates, having developed a natural musical chemistry together. Their sound is intended to push the boundaries of modern jazz, while engaging listeners with rhythm and groove. There’s a nice mix within their sound of traditional jazz, classical, rock, and improv. Rounded out by by saxophonist Trevor Hogg and drummer Nick Fraser, they emphasize dynamic group interaction, with their rapport with one another front and center within each note. Scott and Herring are the primary composers, but the larger sound develops as a collective process.


All of the accolades the band has received, including JUNO Award nominations and the Montreal Jazz Festival Galaxie Rising Star Award, are very much deserved. It’s encouraging to know that we have artists like Peripheral Vision keeping the spirit and essence of jazz alive for a new generation of listeners.

We’ve Got Nothing Track Listing:

1. Close the Paper and Play (5:35)
2. Standing on Two Feet (6:28)
3. Full Disclosure Comedy (Vehicle 6:21)
4. Cone of Silence (4:02)
5. Goodbye Heintzman (5:45)
6. I’ve Got Nothing (8:17)
7. The Mask Has Become the Face (6:53)

Peripheral Vision ‘We’e Got Nothing’ album artwork

Peripheral Vision ‘We’e Got Nothing’ album artwork