Connect with us

Album News

Concrete Caveman Announces ‘Feral’ LP via Strange Mono Records

Strange Mono is announcing the release of Concrete Caveman’s first LP, ‘Feral,’ available November 10, 2023.



Concrete Caveman, photo courtesy of Concrete Caveman

Strange Mono is announcing the release of Concrete Caveman’s first LP, Feral, available November 10, 2023. The trio are not new to the music scene, playing in multiple bands together over the course of ten years. Mindless Flesh is one of the standout names from their early days, with Lord Scumbucket as the most recent band that Concrete Caveman formed. As frontman Johnny Bussott’s writing style developed a heavier and faster edge, it was time for the band to reform and rename themselves for a fresh, pumped-up vibe.

Once the musical wheels started turning in the early stages of this trio, they kept digging in to seek a sound that went even harder. Johnny Busott tossed aside his childhood acoustic guitar in favour of something louder and more aggressive – mainly, his own voice – and cites Black Sabbath as where it all started for Johnny. The band acknowledges their influences while asserting they’re not a “rip-off band” nor trying to imitate any other artist. But to make something new and different while drawing inspiration and combining each of their own styles.

Concrete Caveman unleashes a brutality reminiscent of the death metal that the band’s drummer, Sean Gale, and Johnny Busott found a shared love of early on in their friendship. Vocals and riff-building by Busott form the base of each track, with some lyrics and vocal contributions from Jimmy, as they then fill out the rest as a collective. They avoid traditional rock and metal structures while experimenting with a mix-and-match sound. “Grindcore length without the Grindcore label” is one way the band puts it, challenging each other’s playing when it comes to speed and technique, pulling in blast beats, double bass, and twisting to a new tone.

Concrete Caveman forms the culmination of all the sounds this trio has explored so far, and these longtime buddies have stayed loyal to their local Philly underground origins as they continue to expand across the Northeast, Midwest, and beyond. They’re breaking out of the basement and busting into garages, warehouses, abandoned sites, and even a swamp-bound cemetery – anywhere they can raid with an onslaught of Concrete Caveman frenzy.


Feral Track Listing:

1. Visual Masochist
2. Feral
3. Blood Drunk
4. Death Spiral
5. Mental Epidemic
6. Helldotcom
7. Intruder
8. Tribal Warfare
9. The Price Of Power
10. Doom Scrolls
11. Violent Nightmare
12. Time Will Tell

Concrete Caveman ‘Feral’ album artwork

Concrete Caveman ‘Feral’ album artwork