Common, the renowned rapper, actor, artist, activist and, New York Times best-selling author, has just unveiled a new single (and accompanying Emmanuel Afolabi-directed music video) titled, “Imagine,” which, according to a recent press release, “…dares listeners to imagine a world the way it should be. One where people treat each other with respect, listen to diverse points of view, and whose actions are community minded.”

Common had this to say about the single, “I wrote ‘Imagine’ at a time when we were all going through a lot. But something kept telling me to focus on the good and the things I wanted to see in the world. For me, music is one of the things that gives me hope and happiness throughout these times, whether I am creating it or listening to it. So I wanted ‘Imagine’ to create that feeling of how you can play a song and feel inspired. How a song can make you move and also move your spirit. Essentially, I want us all to feel like days are getting better and that great times are ours for the taking. And the first step in feeling that way is imagining it.”

Common released the seven-track album, A Beautiful Revolution Pt. 1, on October 30th, via Loma Vista Recordings. The recording includes musicians Robert Glasper (keys), Karriem Riggins (drums), Burniss Travis (bass), Isaiah Sharkey (guitar), and PJ (vocals), not to mention guest spots from Black Thought and Lenny Kravitz.

A Beautiful Revolution Pt. 1 Track Listing:

1. Intro
2. Fallin’
3. Say Peace (feat. Black Thought)
4. What Do You Say (Move It Baby)
5. Courageous
6. A Place In This World
7. A Riot In My Mind (feat. Lenny Kravitz)
8. Don’t Forget Who You Are
9. Outro

Artwork for “Imagine ft. PJ” by Common
Artwork for ‘A Beautiful Revolution Pt. 1’ by Common

Publisher, CEO, and Co-Founder - Born in 2003, V13 was a socio-political website that, in 2005, morphed into PureGrainAudio and spent 15 years developing into one of Canada (and the world’s) leading music sites. On the eve the site’s 15th anniversary, a full re-launch and rebrand takes us back to our roots and opens the door to a full suite of Music, Film, TV, and Cultural content.