Connect with us

Album Review

Michael Schenker Group – ‘Immortal’ [Album Review]



First off, I’m not going to focus on whos who or who is in the band. By this time, I think it’s fair to assess Michael Schenker can get whomever he chooses to back him. He is one of the original and mainstay metal guitar gods that never cease to amaze no matter what he does. With some MSG OG’s proclaiming Immortal is too metal; if you listen closely after the initial track, “Drilled To Kill,” the shrapnel dusts off quickly and things resonate back to the symphonic illustrations found on the self-titled Michael Schenker Group, Assault Attack, and Built to Destroy. That continuous driving force that sends the vocal line out on watch while the band prepares for battle is the pivotal point launching Schenker airborn with a gleam in his eye, shrieking, “We’re here with a cacophony of shredding chivalry and we are ‘Immortal.’”

“After The Rain” is possibly the best reprise that Michael can extend towards any Scorpions lullabies that may have favoured your flavour for love in the past. It paints a picture of poetic pirate mischief while “Devils Daughter” sends fiery wind back into the sails after sieging the captain’s daughter, and, with her in arm, Michael shifts face swashbuckling and assaulting every foe in sight. Michale’s notes are so fluent they can only be compared to fine wine and the moisture of mermaid p***y.* Aye, Aye Captian.

Now comes the bad part, a hangover mixed with VD. Not all treasures can be full of gold, and sometimes need to be filled with ibuprofen and penicillin.

“The Queen Of Thorns And Roses” sounds like Jon Bon Jovi jumped ship into a Rainbow song, not that I’m dissing that if that’s your thing, but I think this could have been a B-side for an EP as well as “Come On Over” with its Whitesnake regurgitation that doesn’t need to be heard. So, let’s get back to the attack before the ship sinks.

“In Search Of Piece Of Mind” is the soul saviour that saves a mutiny combating some of the fools gold found on Immortal. With an early morning misty segue, Schenker, German by heritage, shows off with a Mediterranean flair that will not leave the ship sinking, in fact, tact defence is found in both of Schenker’s hands and if need be will row the boat ashore. Sophisticated and heartfelt, Schenker will continue to sail the MSG flag high doing whatever the fuck he wants.

Immortal Track Listing:

1. Drilled to Kill
2. Don’t Die on Me Now
3. Knight of the Dead
4. After the Rain
5. Devil’s Daughter
6. Sail the Darkness
7. The Queen of Thorns and Roses
8. Come on Over
9. Sangria Morte
10. In Search of the Peace of Mind

Run Time: 43:36
Release Date: January 29, 2021
Record Label: Nuclear Blast Records

*I only use vulgarity as an exclamation point when compelled.

I was born in the late 60's amongst hippies and bikers. Cut my teeth on 70's rock and roll surrounded by motorheads and potheads, and in the 80's spread my wings and flourished as a guitarist. In the 90's I became a semi-professional musician knocking on death metals door, as well as entering the world as a freelance writer. In the 2000's I moved to Hollywood and watched the music industry crumble in front of my dreams and then took a break. Now, in the early 2020s I'm ready to rock again… or swing, blues, bluegrass, country, jazz, classical, etc. Its not so much a job to me anymore, but a great way to express myself and have a good time, and, "I know, its only rock and roll but I like it".