At its most generic, deathcore can be dull as shit but, when played well, it can also be truly devastating. Thankfully, Epilogue, the new slab of filth from Sydney bruisers To The Grave, falls into the latter category courtesy of some building-flattening heaviness. Featuring a reworking of their 2019 disc, Global Warning, along with eight new songs, this nineteen-track effort is a stamina-sapping affair.

Described by frontman Dane Evans as “a culmination and celebration of the all we’ve achieved and been through together,” Epilogue is relentless from the outset. Starting off with the eleven-track Global Warning released back in November 2019, the band hit their stride instantly with a display that is fucking terrifying. Taking a grim look at the world collapsing around them, To The Grave spit out track after track of bleakness. “Ecocide,” “Wastage,” “Seven Billion Reasons Why,” each one more scathing than the previous as, led from the front by the astonishing Evans, To The Grave are simply unstoppable.

So, after the eleven-track workover that was Global Warning, it’s nice to see it’s business as usual for these Aussie maulers as “Hear Evil, See Evil” sees the band pick up where their 2019 disc left off with seven crushing slices of musical violence. Evan spews out his disgusting words over a soundtrack of face rearranging brutality. A thick as tar guitar tone, ankle snapping kick drums and haunting atmospherics complete this orgy of depravity as tracks like “Miserable Summer” and “Terrorist Threat” jerk between blast beats, jarring samples and sludgy breakdowns. Nasty! Nasty! Nasty stuff!

“Kill Shelter”’s sound sees the group incorporate some nightmare-inducing effects over the relentless onslaught of deathcore while Evan’s vocal display during the midsection of “Hell Hole” is, quite honestly, fucking inhuman. While Epilogue might primarily consist of material already heard by fans of the band, there is enough in the eight additional tracks to make it a worthwhile purchase. Taking you to the darkest depths of society, Epilogue is a horrifying tale and, when Evans, howls “Welcome to hell on earth” during the opening moments of this album, you’d better strap in for one of the most terrifying experiences of your life.

Epilogue Track Listing:

1. Holocaustralia : Global Warning
2. Ecocide
3. Pest Control
4. Hell Hole
5. Slaughter Forever
6. Gristle Blower
7. The Devil in Sheepskin
8. Wastage
9. Skin Like Pigs
10. Lips & Assholes
11. Seven Billion Reasons Why
12. Hear Evil, See Evil (The Haunting of 2624 Dog Trap Rd)
13. Miserable Summer
14. [-REC]
15. Terrorist Threat
16. Kill Shelter
17. Death By A Thousand Cuts
18. Recoil in Horror (活き締め)
19.The Ghost Of You

Run Time: 63:00
Release Date: April 16, 2021
Record Label: Unique Leader Records

I have an unhealthy obsession with bad horror movies, the song Wanted Dead Or Alive and crap British game shows. I do this not because of the sex, drugs and rock 'n' roll lifestyle it affords me but more because it gives me an excuse to listen to bands that sound like hippos mating.