The band — iconic. The music — more cerebral than much of the typical pop fare of the day, while sexier than most of what was dominating college rock playlists at the time. And when INXS broke bad in 1982 with their third record, Shabooh Shoobah, “one thing” was certain — a “new sensation” had ensued.

The creative chemistry couldn’t be ignored — the infectious riffage of guitarist Tim Farriss colliding with the irresistible rhythm of bassist Garry Gary Beers and drummer Jon Farriss — peppered to perfection by the appealing keyboard work of Andrew Farriss and the sweet sax contributions of Kirk Pengilly. Leading the charge — charismatic frontman, Michael Hutchence.

Combining style AND substance, the Australian pop/rock poster boys positioned themselves prominently on the global stage with subsequent studio slabs — The Swing (1984) and Listen Like Thieves (1985), as such contagious singles as “Original Sin” and “What You Need” saturated radio and MTV airwaves.

Then came the band’s sixth record, Kick, in 1987. Spewing a slew of singles, including “New Sensation,” “Devil Inside,” “Need You Tonight,” “Mediate,” “Never Tear Us Apart” and “Mystify,” the multi platinum-seller served as something of a self-contained “Greatest Hits” collection.

INXS remained one of the biggest bands in the world as their next album, X, dropped early in the fall of 1990 — delivering the dirty, harmonica-driven “Suicide Blonde” and the soaring, heart-stopping “Disappear.” And it was then, in July 1991, while on the tail end of the X tour, when INXS presented their pièce de résistance — a spectacular sold-out performance before 74,000 ardent disciples at London’s famed Wembley Stadium. Captured all on tape, the audio from the concert would serve as the group’s first live record. Entitled Live Baby Live, the career-spanning album arrived in stores worldwide in November 1991.

However, the Wembley concert also was shot on video. Following the recently restored film’s theatrical run in late 2019, Live Baby Live now is available commercially via Eagle Rock Entertainment on 4K and HD digital download, 4K Ultra High Definition Blu-ray, Blu-ray and DVD. The home release presents the film in widescreen for the first time, and in over 20 times greater resolution (on 4K UHD blu-ray) than the initial DVD release.

The meticulous, year-long process of restoring the original 35mm negative to 4K Ultra HD uncovered the X track “Lately.” And the long-lost performance of the song now has been placed back into the film.

To accompany the astonishing visual upgrade, the audio now is presented in Dolby Atmos and DTS-HD Master Audio (Blu-ray only), DTS 5.1 Surround and Dolby 5.1 Surround — all created by Giles Martin, the band’s Executive Music Director, and Sam Okell at Abbey Road Studios.

The physical packages feature fresh 4K-sourced photography from the show, new notes from the band and an essay by acclaimed broadcaster, Jamie East, who attended the Wembley show nearly three decades ago.

In the aftermath of their apex live performance, the band would release three additional studio sets — Welcome to Wherever You Are (1992), Full Moon, Dirty Hearts (1993) and Elegantly Wasted (1997). However, the untimely death of Hutchence in November 1997 would bring their golden-era to a tragic conclusion. And while the three Farriss brothers, Beers and Pengilly would limp forward with various frontmen for another 15 years, the magic made by the original lineup never was matched. Sadly, the group’s story ended finally in 2012 but, through Live Baby Live, the INXS legacy lives on.

Live Baby Live Track Listing:

1. Guns in the Sky
2. New Sensation
3. I Send a Message
4. The Stairs
5. Know the Difference
6. Disappear
7. By My Side
8. Hear That Sound
9. Original Sin
10. Lately
11. The Loved One
12. Wild Life
13. Mystify
14. Bitter Tears
15. Suicide Blonde
16. What You Need
17. Kick
18. Need You Tonight
19. Mediate
20. Never Tear Us Apart
21. Who Pays the Price
22. Devil Inside
23. Shining Star

Director: David Mallet
Distributor: Eagle Rock Entertainment
Release Date: June 26, 2020
Run Time: 1 hour 38 minutes


Christopher Long is a celebrated author, entertainment writer, TV / radio contributor, award-winning musician, popular speaker and international missionary. Referred to once as "the rock and roll Erma Bombeck," Long is known for his conversational, common sense writing style and possessing a passion for sharing his unique perspectives on pop culture, faith and politics. Raised in Missouri's rugged Ozark Mountains and on Florida's sunny Space Coast, Long currently lives near Cocoa Beach. (