The legendary thrash metal band Sepultura is back with a 12th studio release, Kairos. This is a band that really defined extreme metal back in the late 80’s and early 90’s. Albums such as Morbid Visions, Schizophrenia and Beneath The Remains were groundbreaking in their intensity and gained the band respect from metal heads around the world.

The years between what I think is their last great album, Arise, and the present saw the band go through some serious lineup changes (most notably the departure of brothers Max and Igor Cavalera) and release 7 more albums that really never did anything for me. Fast forward to Kairos which for me is a mixed bag. I think it’s probably better than anything the band has done in the last decade and I think it’s definitely a step in the right direction, but aside from the few shining moments I also feel it’s bit lackluster.

I truly dig the opener, “Spectrum” as it has an intensity and an aggressiveness that’s quite impressive. I even really dig the cover version of The Prodigy song, “Fire starter” which on this disc is titled, “4648.” At the end of the day though, I think Kairos is a decent record, definitely not Sepultura at their best, but definitely not a washout either.

Track Listing:

01. Spectrum
02. Kairos
03. Relentless
04. 2011
05. Just One Fix
06. Dialog
07. Mask
08. 1433
09. Seethe
10. Born Strong
11. Embrace The Storm
12. 5772
13. No One Will Stand
14. Structure Violence (Azzes)
15. 4648

Run Time: 53:10
Release Date: July 12, 2011

Check out the song: “Kairos”