Connect with us

Album Review

Of Virtue – ‘Omen’ [Album Review]

Of Virtue’s new album, ‘Omen,’ can be expected to haunt you. With both overt religious themes and a very human element, the album is specific with its messages.



Of Virtue ‘Omen’ album artwork

Of Virtue’s new album, Omen, can be expected to haunt you. The title track and album’s first single will lead you to believe you will be given a slow introduction to what’s to come; however, that shifts very quickly (in a total of nine seconds quickly). The thrum of the drums and passion in any of the screamed lyrics evoke intense emotional reactions to this album.

Omen contains overt religious themes not only in the titles but also in its lyrical depiction of tensions between good and evil and simply being human. Some of these titles include “Sinner,” “Holy,” and “False Idols.” The human element comes from its invoking of themes of sobriety, anxiety over losing control, and paranoia, which runs true for Of Virtue, who have been vocal mental health advocates.

My personal favorites of the songs are “Cold Blooded” and “Floating Ft Rory Rodriquez.” Check out Omen, released on Friday, October 27th!

Omen Track Listing:


1. Omen
2. Hypocrite
3. Cold Blooded
4. Cut Me Open
5. Sober
6. A.N.X.I.E.T.Y.
7. Floating” (featuring Rory Rodriguez of Dayseeker)
8. True Colors
9. Sinner
10. Holy
11. Cannibals
12. False Idols

Run Time: 39:22
Release Date: October 27, 2023
Record Label: Arising Empire

Of Virtue, photo by Alexander Bemis

Of Virtue, photo by Alexander Bemis